Gamers logo

Wuthering Waves

An Open-World Action RPG

By CoffeePublished 16 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Wuthering Waves
Photo by Caspar Camille Rubin on Unsplash

Wuthering Waves

Wuthering Waves was a long-awaited open-world action RPG from Kuro Games. The majority of the Gacha Community has high expectations from its combat alone due to Kuro Games' Punishing: Gray Raven.

Aside from that, the game offers an open world in a post-apocalyptic setting which some prefer than the bright colors of Genshin Impact, the game's competitor.

I have always been a fan of open-world games - from Breath of the Wild to Pokémon Scarlet to Genshin Impact and now to Wuthering Waves.

Wuthering Waves: Release Date

Wuthering Waves was released recently on May 23, 2024. The wait was finally over and the Community could finally enjoy the game - its combat, its story, its world.

The Combat

The combat of Wuthering Waves was promising as expected. Never have I enjoyed dodging and parrying to this level. I have always been a casual gamer. Seeing the animation of the dodge feels exciting. I watched guides on YouTube to find out when do I press the dodge and attack to parry. This video by Swiftblade was particularly helpful to me. (Like and Subscribe!)

The game rewards you for being skillful. You watch the enemy instead of spamming attacks and skills. I admit, that I do it in Genshin Impact a lot. Spare me. At the very least, I can get waaay past the tutorial. ehe

The Story: Main

There is a mixed reaction to the story of Wuthering Waves. Some have liked it, some didn't, and for others, it was satisfying.

The story did not have the most exciting beginning. You wake up in the world with no memories. You meet two ladies who help you along the way, including flooding you with information. Some players did not like this. Too much jargon in such a short time. It reminds me of my sister explaining her work. She's a toxicologist. I just nod like I understood.

The story picks itself up the moment you arrive at Qichi Village. And I'll stop here. I don't want to spoil anyone.

The Story: Side

The Side stories of Wuthering Waves are as interesting as some of the Side quests in Genshin Impact. The most notable ones so far are The Eternal Concert and A True Arena Champion.

Some of the Side stories can be spotted directly on your map. Some, however, need you to unlock something else before you can see it.

For example, When the Moonlight Shines in the Forest requires you to first do the Exploration Quest: When the Forest is No Longer Dim.

And even more interesting is you need to talk to NPCs everywhere to trigger a Side Quest as shown in this map by GameVillage.

The World

The world of Wuthering Waves is expansive. Some players may not like its gloomy appearance, but it doesn't mean the world cannot be beautiful. Have you seen the great Banyan tree? You must do the Exploration Quest first and enjoy the scenery. It's beautiful.

Some may say the exploration of this world is very similar to Genshin Impact. Well, there is some truth in that, puzzles, chests, isn't that what the open world is? This is the same formula for Breath of the Wild, an amazing game. I'm truly grateful that many developers have been inspired by this game. I enjoy these games a lot. I don't know if you can tell.

Do I recommend it?

YES. A big big yes. Play Wuthering Waves. Try it. The game may not be as satisfying for you at this time, but the developers have proven themselves time and again that they listen. They listen to their players. Other than that, it is a work of art that people worked hard on, blood, sweat, and tears, perhaps. But it has so many things to offer. So many things it can still offer in the future. Let us give it the chance to show it.

rpgaction adventure

About the Creator

Coffee

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Jane Katt14 days ago

    Sounds like Wuthering Waves is a must-try. Definitely adding it to my list!

  • Suta Aryo15 days ago

    Good

  • Ameer Bibi15 days ago

    Well deserved win Keep up the great work Congratulations

  • Inspire & Engage15 days ago

    The writing was beautiful! The story captivated me completely.

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • And I am back to say congrats for Top Story!! Well-deserved. You have a unique style in writing such a review. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Wuthering Waves sounds like a wonderful game. It reminds me I used to play when I was a kid, well later in highschool when we had a computer at home. Building worlds was my favorite type of game.. So I will check this out, even if I am more of a writer than a gamer, but who knows? Maybe I can create something different and it might bring back some extra memories to write about :)

  • Novel Allen16 days ago

    I think i just read English in French. Ok, I am nodding like you do to your sister's toxicology stories. Not being a gamer and all. But it sounds delightful, written with gusto and excitement. Congrats...luckily they understand.

  • Andrea Corwin 16 days ago

    I don't play these games, but this seems to be a great feature! "For example, When the Moonlight Shines in the Forest requires you to first do the Exploration Quest: When the Forest is No Longer Dim." OR, it could be frustrating to users....

CoffeeWritten by Coffee

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.