Poets logo

Imprisonment

Real Poetic’s Anniversary acrostic challenge

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 5 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Imprisonment
Photo by Rajesh Rajput on Unsplash

another year of isolation

negotiating my worth, my value, begging you

not to disregard me

“invest in me, I’m worth it, please see”

venting, raging

eviscerating fear,

regretting, releasing,

scintillating tears

another year of isolation

realising my worth, my value, attracting you to

yclept me as part of you

inspirationalsocial commentarysad poetry

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (26)

  • Christy Munson2 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! 🥳 Loved learning a new word (yclept)!

  • congratulations on TS. this one is well worth it.

  • Congratulations on having your story featured as a top story on Vocal! This is a remarkable achievement, and it's clear why your work has received such recognition. Your storytelling is truly exceptional. The narrative was not only compelling but also beautifully crafted, holding my attention from start to finish. The way you developed the characters and plot was masterful, making the story both engaging and thought-provoking. Your unique voice and perspective shine through, setting your work apart. It’s evident that you poured a lot of passion and effort into this piece, and it has certainly paid off. I look forward to reading more of your incredible stories in the future. Keep up the fantastic work! Best regards, Dr. Jay

  • Lamar Wiggins3 days ago

    Wow!!! You were quick on the draw with this one. Like it's been waiting to be said and the prompt allowed it to be released...Great work and Congrats! Hope all is well, my friend!

  • Natasha Collazo3 days ago

    Congrats!! Lovely writing!!

  • shanmuga priya3 days ago

    Congratulations on this stunning achievement 💐💐💐

  • Natasha Collazo3 days ago

    Love!!!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 days ago

    Fabulously written!

  • Babs Iverson4 days ago

    Pure powerful performance poem!!! Loved it!!! Congratulations on Top Story too!!!

  • Kristen Balyeat4 days ago

    The depth to this piece is profound, Kayleigh. I read this yesterday and meant to come back to comment, so happy to see it in the top! Beautiful work, and GREAT word {yclept}—haven't seen that one in a long time!

  • Novel Allen4 days ago

    I feel the words, been feeling like that lately myself. Heck, I thought 'yclept' was a typo. Baring the soul always wins. Kudos TS.

  • And congrats on Top Story!!😊

  • wow I also had to look up yclept.. This was so powerful!

  • Caroline Jane4 days ago

    A personal, relatable truth articulated incredibly well. And... "Yclept" wow... New word for me too!

  • ROCK 4 days ago

    Sorrowful and brilliant. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Paul Stewart4 days ago

    Congrats on Top Storydom, girl!

  • angela hepworth4 days ago

    So vulnerable and powerfully worded. Amazing work!

  • D.K. Shepard4 days ago

    Great acrostic! And like Dharrsheena, I learned a new word!

  • The mirror you share here. Great work

  • It's wonderful to see you back. I know you've been back for a little while but it is nice to see you back. I really enjoyed this poem, you always do such a great job with everything you're right. You are definitely a talent to be recognized.

  • Real Poetic5 days ago

    I also learned a new word! Beautifully done and so quickly!!

  • Paul Stewart5 days ago

    oh...this hit deeply. Well written, Kayleigh, as ever. Also...so glad I saw Dharrsh's comment before I commented on your typo...that wasn't a typo! Learnt something new today haha!

  • "regretting, releasing, scintillating tears" Those lines were my favourite. I also learned a new word today, yclept! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Hannah Moore5 days ago

    Definitely seeing echos of my social life here.

Kayleigh Fraser ✨Written by Kayleigh Fraser ✨

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.