Poets logo

the dancer

a poem

By Kayleigh Fraser โœจPublished 8 days ago โ€ข 1 min read
the dancer
Photo by David Hofmann on Unsplash

casting eminent pearls in perfect time

to the raucous tune of ignorant swine

stuffing their dishevelled dollar bills

into panties covering her portal

divine

sashaying to bestow the cheapest thrills

in odious acts of unconscious crime

all unwitting victims playing the game

of the devil's ingenious design

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

This song was playing in my mind on repeat for the entire time it took to complete this short poem.

I notice that itโ€™s from 1987 - the year I was bornโ€ฆ which is something I didnโ€™t realise until now. Itโ€™s a song that I am assuming my mother must have really enjoyed or frequently relaxed to because it has always deeply resonated with me. From the music to his voice to the story he tells... itโ€™s a song I just love.

I hadnโ€™t seen the video until now either and it has me wondering if perhaps this is when the dream of my becoming a ballerina was planted into my consciousnessโ€ฆ

social commentary

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser โœจ

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related ๐Ÿ’ซ

โ€œWhen life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on orangesโ€

๐ŸŠ๐Ÿ‹๐Ÿ’ฅ๐Ÿ‹๐ŸŠ

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • T. Licht5 days ago

    so creative and such good vocabulary. ๐Ÿ’–

  • Mohammed Darasi7 days ago

    A great poem Kayleigh! Love the rhyming you had, and I chuckled at "panties covering her portal" ๐Ÿ˜….. don't think I heard portal used in this context before ๐Ÿ˜‚

  • Loving the biblical nods in this one! Pearl, swine, divine, devil... Clever and neat. (Mine usually ramble on too long to be called a proper poem).

  • Oooo, that "divine" was so on point! I enjoyed both your poem and that song!

  • Hannah Moore8 days ago

    I feel like this is about misattributed value.

  • Dana Crandell8 days ago

    Casting pearls before swine, indeed! So very well written, Kayleigh!

  • Babs Iverson8 days ago

    Brilliant and loving it!!!๐Ÿ’•โค๏ธโค๏ธ

  • Sasi Kala8 days ago

    Loved your poem!

  • shanmuga priya8 days ago

    Your writing style is incredibly engaging ....I really enjoyed your poem...

  • Paul Stewart8 days ago

    Beautiful and a gut-punch!

Kayleigh Fraser โœจWritten by Kayleigh Fraser โœจ

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.