Chapters logo

Old Enough

Surviving Summer; Dancing Feet, Part II of Sequel

By ROCK Published 5 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2024
Old Enough
Photo by Carl Jorgensen on Unsplash

I get up early cause I know Pearl will make biscuits, eggs, and crisp bacon and let me lick the warm salty lard with my fingers from the skillet once it cools off. I watch her go "mmmm, mmmm" and squeeze her lips into a smile. She starts the percolator for Paw-Paw, pours me a big glass of ice cold milk and stands over me saying, "drink it down." Pearl always makes hard things seem easy, not so good days feel okay and I wish she were my Momma. We don't look the same but if she asked me to be her child I'd be the luckiest girl alive. She pulls my fingers out of my mouth, " you get worms now, hear me?" I most definitely don't want worms so I am really trying to stop chewing my nails. Pearl's nails are always clean, trimmed, with a clear, shiny gloss. Her lips are full, ripe, like a fresh dark purple plum. She has fine teeth, big hazel eyes and wears tiny gold studs in each earlobe. I want earrings, but the thought of a needle being pushed though my ear doesn't sound like it's worth the trouble, at least right now. I would like some tap shoes though. Pearl laughs when I tell her about my dancing dreams. She says I have happy feet cause I am wiggling my toes all the time. When Paw-Paw goes out on the porch to smoke his pipe I always show him my latest moves. After breakfast, Pearl starts washing our sheets and says there is a dust bunny under my bed. I don't want to look. I scare myself enough just looking at hobos. Anyway, back to the railroad. Just can't help myself. I don't curse, smoke, steal or commit sins that I know of, but I can tell you right here and right now, hobos teach and preach more than any one body needs. I confess I became on friendly terms with a man named Hank. He'd wave and say, " Hey, May! Keep smilin' kiddo!" and he'd sometimes be laying in the shade right calm when I snuck up to see him. He always looked sad just before he caught sight of me. Soon as my big trap started jabbering he'd change like a chameleon. That is, he'd try to make life seem so fine. I new he was hungry. I started taking biscuits on the days I figured he'd be around and he was always obliged. Just like the song, Mr. Bojangles, I began to show off my dancing moves to cheer ole Hank up. How is it we just know someone isn't happy? He laughed and smiled; in my mind he had a harmonica or some groovy steps he'd show me, but he never did. When the rest of the jumpers, as he referred to his fellow train hopping hobos as, came around he'd shoo me off. He told me in a kind, yet tough way to go on home. Where Hank went I never knew; in my heart I liked to hold it was somewhere much better than the hard ass dirt he slept on, full of God only knows what, and lonesome nights with an empty belly and mosquitos. Back home, I'm hosed down. Pearl gives me a hard stare; I am guessing she is guessing where the heck I've been. I am full of cockleburs, red from the sun. She leaves Paw-Paw and me my favourite, whipped cream and orange jello. I always hug her when she heads back to the place she calls home; I will make sure that this summer I follow Pearl like a cat stalks, curious that is, not aiming to find trouble. Late, when Paw-Paw is loving his heap of second helpings from supper, I ease out from my bedroom and stand right in front of the late night news. Paw-Paw's old Grandpa eyes widen and I start dancing; I pretend to tap dance and point my toes toward the ceiling fan, clap my hands and fall onto the thick, Persian patterned carpet. Paw-Paw laughs with his belly bouncing. I guess for now, summer is getting off to a good start. I slink down the long hallway and slither into bed. I wonder where Hank is now; Memphis, Baton Rouge, New Orleans? By now, hobos, I mean, jumpers, could be anywhere. I say out loud as if I am praying, "Goodnight jumper Hank; goodnight Pearl". I wiggle my toes one more time, roll over toward the moon shining through my window and smile.

*Authors note*~ this is part II of a sequel, Old Enough; Surviving Summer - Dancing Feet-

SequelYoung AdultFictionAdventure

About the Creator

ROCK

Writing truth or fiction, feels as if I am stroking across a canvas, painting colourful words straight from my heart. I write from my old farmhouse in Sweden. *BLOGLINK

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (35)

  • Susana's Worlda day ago

    Beautiful! Your writing reminds me of one of my favorite authors, Sue Monk Kidd and her book The Secret Lives of Bees. Ever read? If not, You should check it out! Having just moved to the south three years ago, I loved reading your story ❤️

  • Brahim Diaz3 days ago

    This is an amazing story visit https://fcmobilemodapk.com/

  • This was so beautiful, a story for the soul really! Congrat for top story!!! 💖

  • I'm not sure how I missed this part, so sorry. I'm so glad you republished this. Congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Hannah Moore5 days ago

    This is so evocative.

  • Paula R29 days ago

    Congratulations!

  • Robyn Petersonabout a month ago

    Very heartwarming. <3

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    I love a southern story!!!

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Feels like coming of age in the south. Congratulations on Top Story!!! 🥳

  • Kodahabout a month ago

    Incredible story! Deservedly so top story! 💌🥳🎉🥳🎉

  • Siyabulela Mchilaabout a month ago

    Great compelling story

  • Andreaabout a month ago

    Love your character "Hank". You imbued him with a softness in a hard scrabble life you describe.Brava chica!

  • Nelly Ngunjiriabout a month ago

    Excellent work congrats on top story

  • Carmen Heniginabout a month ago

    I love this. Written beautifully.

  • Earl W. Pearlabout a month ago

    Congratulations on Top Story, Rock.

  • Sara Frederickabout a month ago

    Great story!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Wonderful adventurous story!!! Loved it!°❤️❤️💕 Congratulations on Top Story too!!!

  • Anna about a month ago

    Congrats on your Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Cyrusabout a month ago

    Great story!

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Congrats on the top story.

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    I agree with Caroline. Such a believable character. Full of life and ready for adventure. Congrats, ROCK!

  • Kailash Kuwarabout a month ago

    Very good

  • Real Poeticabout a month ago

    This is executed excellently. Congrats!

  • Caroline Cravenabout a month ago

    Wow. Such a believable character and I felt like I was there. So good.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Wooohooooo congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

ROCK Written by ROCK

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.