Psyche logo

Perspective

Finding it, and using it to see life at its very best.

By Nagoh Creative (Greg)Published 23 days ago 3 min read
Photography by Author - Nagoh Creative

My journey as a photographer has allowed me to tap into a unique view through my lens, I have found that it is all about “perspective”. Let me explain.

Our planet is unique and beautiful in every single way imaginable. We have blue skies, air to breathe, life flourishing in the deepest darkest corners of the world, and things that seem impossible are possible here. Earth is truly a miracle. I have captured and memorized the smallest events, it can be as simple as a light change across a field, or a dandelion breaking free from its roots and floating away. Art is everywhere, and I love capturing it in unique ways.

Another thing that happened to me was that as a young amateur photographer, I was constantly looking at the world through the eyes of my lens and framing each target I saw as what I hoped would possibly be my “next great shot”. In doing so I was putting so much pressure on myself that the joy of photography started to become more about pleasing others and not a joy of my heart anymore. I also started to lose “perspective” on who gave me this amazing ability and talent to capture the things in this world the way I can. I started to become arrogant in my gift and no longer thanked God as much as I should have for all I was and am blessed with. I began to stumble, and then fall, and my mental health declined to a point of almost pure destruction. My “perspective” was lost. I needed to get back up and find it.

Photography by Author - Nagoh Creative

We recently had a solar eclipse here in North America. I drove 10 hours so I could see it at 100% totality. Why did I make this journey for a 3-minute event that very well could have been clouded out? I did it because I knew I needed the very best “perspective” and I believe this truth, that the view of a solar eclipse on Earth is and always will be the best there is in our solar system.

Why is that? Our Earth is the only planet that experiences solar eclipses like we do. Other planets in our solar system do have eclipses, but the “perspective is not the same as it is from Earth. There is no other planet in our solar system that aligns so perfectly with our sun and moon. They fit almost perfectly together and create the most incredible celestial display in real-time imaginable. To learn more about this I recommend visiting the science website “EarthSky” as they do an amazing job in explaining this more, here is a small bit from their link.

Photography by Author - Nagoh Creative

What I am about to tell you next is what I truly believe, and my Faith gives me that assurance that events like this are not random. I do not believe it is an accident we sit at the exact perfect spot in our solar system such that the moon and the sun fit perfectly together when they cross paths. I believe it is the perfect design by God and it is done so to show an incredible display of His majesty and create awe and wonder like nothing else when a solar eclipse takes place here on His Earth.

Photography by Author - Nagoh Creative

I realize that some readers may not be at a place of faith like me, and that’s okay. This is not intended to be an article to influence your faith or journey into Christianity. The real purpose for me in sharing is to try and recognize “perspective” in life’s journey and the mistakes we make as humans and children of the Father.

The world will tell you that hindsight is 20/20, and that is so true! I use that now going forward in my journey of recovery, to learn and change my “perspective” when the next opportunity presents itself to do so. You, just like, me can truly have the best vantage point possible if we start to become aware that life lessons are all about “perspective”.

I have two years of sobriety this week in my journey. It is just one small part of learning new ways to deal with pain or find joy. I was pursuing a selfish perspective, and I was hurting the ones I love dearly, the most.

Photography by Author - Nagoh Creative

Authors Note: Thanks for reading, commenting, and sharing. My writing is a part of my healing process. I am a broken spirit, a fallen sinner, but I am a forgiven child of God. That is why I share my vulnerable heart with all. Thank you for your support.

addictionsupportrecoveryphotographycopingartadvice

About the Creator

Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Writer, Poet, Astronomer, Photographer & Encourager. I am on a road of life recovery and sharing my journey with words and art. Most importantly, I am a forgiven Child of God, Husband, Father, & friend. All work is my own, & God's Glory.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Andrea Corwin 21 days ago

    It is something how many of us make our "fun" projects into chores by trying to do the very best and competing instead of enjoying. Social media and the Information Age have done some of that, turning lives into constant competition. Congratulations on your journey to wellness!

Nagoh Creative (Greg)Written by Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.