Poets logo

my cry for help

a poem & sketch about overcoming feeling lost and new growth.

By Nagoh Creative (Greg)Published 23 days ago 1 min read
Sketch by Nagoh Creative (Author)

you're the world in my life

and you're a gift I get for free

I got a new high pulling my strings

and all of it's for selfish me

look at my my hands they are so cold

a weathered look that feels like old

hold them tight, hold them well

grab them help pull me from this shell

all I'm asking in this cry for help

is for you to help come set me free

am I asking to die well?

I just need you to help come save me

in a world where life is lightning

I need the words to come from you

as I crash down to the floor

will you meet me at my knees

here's my last laugh, here's my cry

my spirit seems to want to die

but alas don't let go

my cry for help can take me home

… 

According to my poetry journal, I wrote this poem on August 26th, 1999. I think at that age I was trying to explore the sad emotions of love lost in death or the idea that a person can save you. Putting all my faith into the idea that a person can be saved by someone else. That is just too much for one person to carry and have placed on them. My emotional and spiritual outlook has changed since then. The sketch I pulled and used for this poem I think is a fitting reminder of the change that can happen to a person. I love to draw trees, and you will see that as I share more. The tree I drew above shows a piece missing, maybe a part of me needed to be pruned, and with that comes new growth and change. Pruning makes us stronger. I may not look like a perfect tree but I am growing stronger with each pruning.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Writer, Poet, Astronomer, Photographer & Encourager. I am on a road of life recovery and sharing my journey with words and art. Most importantly, I am a forgiven Child of God, Husband, Father, & friend. All work is my own, & God's Glory.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Andrea Corwin 23 days ago

    The note you included puts this piece of poetry in a different light. Hope you have found someone and your poetry will be happy.

  • Sweileh 88823 days ago

    Interesting and delicious content, keep posting more.

  • Nice writing keep it up!!!

Nagoh Creative (Greg)Written by Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.