Poets logo

a love forgiven

a poem about death, letting go, and saying goodbye.

By Nagoh Creative (Greg)Published 26 days ago Updated 26 days ago 1 min read
Photography by Author - Nagoh Creative

could you stay here longer? 

sit and watch me cry

just lay upon my heartbeats 

and listen to them die

could you say you love me 

your final last three words

then maybe kiss me softly 

before it starts to hurt

wishing I could save this

wishing I could be

closer to a love 

that once gripped a hold of me

pull your eyes from heaven 

trying to make it dark

close the doors to hell 

to block the firey spark

I can't take you with me 

I can't leave you here

but I will still keep breathing

long enough to whisper clear

forever in my soul 

your thoughts, my mind won't part

I will not leave without 

the three words from your heart

...

I wrote this poem with the idea of death in the first person. I imagined myself as old surrounded by loved ones and gently fading away. I have only had one true experience with letting someone go in death, it was incredibly difficult. The picture I used for this poem is one I took on a country road in the evening as the sun was setting. The evening was dark as a storm was rolling in. I think it represents a road to death. Not that I think death has to be all dark and gloomy. My faith tells me that death will be a bright, painless, and wonderful gift being reunited with my heavenly Father. However, exploring the early aspects of these emotions was the intent.

Authors Note: Thanks for reading, commenting, and sharing. My writing is a part of my healing process. I am a broken spirit, a fallen sinner, but I am a forgiven child of God. That is why I share my vulnerable heart with all. Thank you for your support.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Writer, Poet, Astronomer, Photographer & Encourager. I am on a road of life recovery and sharing my journey with words and art. Most importantly, I am a forgiven Child of God, Husband, Father, & friend. All work is my own, & God's Glory.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran25 days ago

    Your poem was so emotional and your photo was so beautiful!

Nagoh Creative (Greg)Written by Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.