Beat logo

Yellow

My Children's Lullaby

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 8 days ago • 3 min read
Top Story - June 2024

Because I'm currently bawling my eyes out over my oldest child's Kindergarten graduation rapidly approaching, I thought I would turn it into something beautiful.

I have always had a soft spot in my heart for this song. Someone I loved very much showed me it. It was always my eldest's lullaby when he was a baby.

Then it turned into my daughter's lullaby.

Now, I sing it to my baby.

I'm just sobbing tonight over how beautiful all three of my children are to me.

My daughter requested a lullaby tonight from one of her TV shows called Chip and Potato, and because I didn't know the words to that one, I sang her this.

Listen to the words.....

Look at the stars

Look how they shine for you

And everything you do

Yeah, they were all yellow

I came along

I wrote a song for you

And all the things you do

And it was called Yellow

So then I took my turn

Oh, what a thing to have done

And it was all yellow

Your skin, oh yeah, your skin and bones

Turn into something beautiful

And you know, you know I love you so

You know I love you so

I swam across

I jumped across for you

Oh, what a thing to do

'Cause you were all yellow

I drew a line

I drew a line for you

Oh, what a thing to do

And it was all yellow

And your skin, oh yeah, your skin and bones

Turn into something beautiful

And you know, for you, I'd bleed myself dry

For you, I'd bleed myself dry

It's true

Look how they shine for you

Look how they shine for you

Look how they shine for

Look how they shine for you

Look how they shine for you

Look how they shine

Look at the stars

Look how they shine for you

And all the things that you do

My partner thinks it's about someone that died but honestly I think it suits our family. My grandma used to sing us One Tin Solider growing up.

Listen children to a story

That was written long ago

'Bout a kingdom on a mountain

And the valley both below.

On the mountain was a treasure

Buried deep beneath the stone

And the valley people swore they would have it for their very own.

Go ahead and hate your neighbor, go ahead and cheat a friend.

Do it in the name of heaven, you can justify in the end.

There won't be any trumpets blowing come the judgement day.

On the bloody morning after,

One tin soldier rides away.

So the people of the valley sent a message up the hill.

Asking for the buried treasure.

Tons of gold for which they'd kill

Came an answer from the kingdom

With our brothers we will share all the

Secrets of our mountain, all the riches buried there.

Now the valley cried with anger

Mount your horses, draw your sword

And they killed the mountain people, so they won their just reward.

Now they stood beside the treasure, on the mountain dark and red

Teared the stone and looked beneath it

Peace on earth was all it said

Go ahead and hate your neighbor, go ahead and cheat a friend.

Do it in the name of heaven, you could justify in the end.

There won't be any trumpets blowing come the judgement day

On the bloody morning after

One tin soldier rides away.

Go ahead and hate your neighbor, go ahead and cheat a friend.

Do it in the name of heaven, you could justify in the end

There won't be any trumpets blowing

Come the judgement day

On the bloody morning after

One tin soldier rides away

It seems to be a trend to sing our babies songs that aren’t typically known for being lullabies.

What about you guys? What do you or did you sing to your children? Or what was your favourite lullaby that was sung to you while you were little? Something classic like Twinkle Twinkle Little Star or something our there like the ones I’ve written about above?

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

humanityquotesfeatureart

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Dr. Jason Benskin2 days ago

    Congratulations on having your story featured as a top story on Vocal! This is a remarkable achievement, and it's clear why your work has received such recognition. Your storytelling is truly exceptional. The narrative was not only compelling but also beautifully crafted, holding my attention from start to finish. The way you developed the characters and plot was masterful, making the story both engaging and thought-provoking. Your unique voice and perspective shine through, setting your work apart. It’s evident that you poured a lot of passion and effort into this piece, and it has certainly paid off. I look forward to reading more of your incredible stories in the future. Keep up the fantastic work! Best regards, Dr. Jay

  • Natasha Collazo3 days ago

    Wow loved this! Love this song too

  • Yellow is a pretty song very sweet narrative here!

  • shanmuga priya5 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉 on top story.

  • Chloe, this is a beautiful lullaby! The repetition and simple lyrics make it easy to sing and calming for little ones. "And it was all yellow" creates a warm and safe feeling, like sunshine. I love the line "Look at the stars/ Look how they shine for you" - it's a sweet way to tell a child they are loved. It's interesting to hear your partner's interpretation and how the song has a different meaning for your family. That's the beauty of music - it can be personal and connect with people in different ways. This is a lovely song that I'm sure your children will cherish. You should definitely keep writing lullabies!

  • Darkos8 days ago

    Beautiful 🩷🌷😊🌞Love it Thank You for sharing !

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Written by Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.