Psyche logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

My Battle With Recovery After Eating Disorders: Part Two

"Should I Really Eat That?"

By Carol TownendPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
My Battle With Recovery After Eating Disorders: Part Two
Photo by Z Graphica on Unsplash

The second part of my journey.

You can read the first part here:

I am getting used to food.

Some days I am fine, and on those days I can eat what I love without the guilty feelings that creep up, but on others,

I am not so great at managing my thoughts when it comes to food.

People who don't understand eating disorders tend to think that once a person has recovered, that is it; they never have to worry about their weight again.

Battling an eating disorder isn't just about battling weight. It's about battling all those self-loathing feelings that become your most hated friend too.

Today, one of my cravings kicked in.

Doughnuts.

I do like doughnuts, but I hate them at the same time. It's the sugar I worry about, and the fat content.

I worry that eating them will make me look like the hateful, evil, person that I believed I used to be when I was being abused, and going through a severe mental health breakdown in which I was in the deepest thrall of eating disorders.

I know I am not living in that horrible past now, but sometimes my mind likes to remind me of it. When that happens, images run through my mind like a video recorder constantly playing in my head.

I'm not talking about the actual images where I was abused, although they do come back sometimes. It's the images of the extremely thin me, binge eating, not eating, over-exercising, and vomiting. Images of me crying in the mirror thinking I am too fat, too thin, ugly, worthless, and lack of identity from the past, that somehow make their way into my mind in the present.

Today, I couldn't resist them. I tried, but I really wanted a doughnut, so I had one.

I am pregnant, and not having one would have been more damaging than having one.

The positive side is that it didn't force me to vomit like in the past. I am over that.

However; the negative side was that just one doughnut had me checking whether I had put on weight, got spots, or damaged my figure in the mirror; then I felt guilty about it for hours afterward.

I almost reverted when I went to the toilet. It took a lot of determination and willpower not to. It didn't stop after I managed to deter myself; I was tempted to exercise and just burn everything, right down to the last imaginary piece of fat that had formed in my mind.

I didn't though. I knew it would not do me any good, and that if I did; I would cause more problems.

Right now, I have to stay healthy.

I am not in the thrall of a full-blown eating disorder. I guess that recovery can still leave you with traits.

It's these traits that I struggle with every day.

Even wellness doesn't mean 100% healthy.

In my personal experience, we will always have some shadows from the past that haunt us, even in good health. It can feel like a never-ending battle to stay well after an eating disorder.

It's like our bodies and minds form lifelong bad habits from the past that stay with us.

The question is;

Can I remain positive, and push these horrible thoughts away in order to continue rebuilding my healthy life?

I guess the only way to find out is to keep trying and journaling so that I can see how I am progressing.

I have always believed in positive thinking.

Maybe this is what I need right now.

selfcarerecoveryeatingdisordercoping

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Kageno Hoshino7 months ago

    I love the part 2

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Agree with positive thoughts and keeping a food journal definitely helps in the battle!!! Sending positive vibes!!!❤️❤️💕

Carol TownendWritten by Carol Townend

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.