Poets logo

In The Pauses

a poem (with an update on the horizon)

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 9 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
In The Pauses
Photo by Katie Moum on Unsplash

There are times I've felt I wasn't a writer,

moments of long pauses, voids when I didn't publish.

Lamentably, my pen seemed unable to touch the paper,

much less scribble out poetry and fantasy.

*

But, my brain still thinks, does it not,

so why can't it still build plots even if they never come into fruition?

Even as I presently find myself unable to talk in anything but a whisper,

my words still scream with meaning, don't they?

*

One does not have to be loud to be heard,

so in turn one must not always write like they are Hamilton,

attempting to get everything down as if they will expire tomorrow.

The pauses remind me I am human

needing time to recover, to heal before creating again.

Or perhaps in these seemingly long moments,

it is all hidden away in my mind, written in invisible ink

until I am ready to reveal it.

*****

social commentaryinspirationalFree Verse

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Dr. Jason Benskin3 days ago

    Congratulations on having your story featured as a top story on Vocal! This is a remarkable achievement, and it's clear why your work has received such recognition. Your storytelling is truly exceptional. The narrative was not only compelling but also beautifully crafted, holding my attention from start to finish. The way you developed the characters and plot was masterful, making the story both engaging and thought-provoking. Your unique voice and perspective shine through, setting your work apart. It’s evident that you poured a lot of passion and effort into this piece, and it has certainly paid off. I look forward to reading more of your incredible stories in the future. Keep up the fantastic work! Best regards, Dr. Jay

  • Joe Patterson4 days ago

    Beautifully written, Alexandria. Congratulations on top story.

  • Caroline Craven5 days ago

    Invisible ink. So true! This was fab and congrats on two top stories. So well deserved.

  • shanmuga priya5 days ago

    Congratulations! Your writing has truly captivated our hearts and minds! 🎉

  • Lana V Lynx5 days ago

    Great poem, reflects on what many of us are feeling.

  • Excellent Top Story!🤩 Well said: “But, my brain still thinks, does it not, so why can't it still build plots even if they never come into fruition? Even as I presently find myself unable to talk in anything but a whisper, my words still scream with meaning, don't they?”✅

  • Hannah Moore5 days ago

    We all march to a different drum. Sparsity doesn't devalue the work.

  • Brilliant and beautiful! Congrats on top story :)

  • Catsidhe5 days ago

    Beautiful and so well-put!

  • D.K. Shepard5 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!! I also found this very relatable! Echo echo!

  • Very relatable piece excellent piece

  • Hope Martin7 days ago

    Love this a lot. :) very relatable...

  • YOU are a wonderful writer and glad to see you again

  • Matthew Fromm8 days ago

    Love a good hamilton reference.

  • angela hepworth9 days ago

    This was so powerful.

Alexandria StanwyckWritten by Alexandria Stanwyck

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.