Poets logo

long lost poems stay buried

an unearthing of poetic reflection

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
32
long lost poems stay buried
Photo by Phillip Larking on Unsplash

I’ve been trying to find a poem that I’ve never written

Trying to find the words to a piece that my dreams have been misleading me to

Find the space in which it is taking place in

No

It was never put down

Never laid to rest on the body of a page that lived a full life

Never etched into anything but the imaginary subconscious memory of a dream

Never found anywhere but on the lingering tail of a Milky Way fantasy

To be honest

Maybe I had hoped that I had written again

Maybe I had prayed to find my voice in the deepest parts of me

Maybe I was desperate to know that I still can

Maybe, I just needed to wake up wake up wake up

And write it down

-

And perhaps it was written

Maybe, I have woken woken woken up

Maybe I had been desperate but found survival

Maybe it was buried in the pits of my own self loathing

To be honest

I have found self love lingering on the tail of the Milky Way

The shimmer and slide has guided stars into storied constellations

It has been resting among the galaxies

Yes

I have found the place to take up space in

Found the words to hush the nightmares that have plagued me

I have found the poem that has tried to evade me

And I shall title it; the stars have sung that you are enough.

By Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

This poem was a collaboration with myself from around 5 years ago. The first portion of the poem was written then, in a search for the right poem. The second portion I have written today, as I have found the right poem within myself. I am the right poem, the right words, and the right choice.

surreal poetryslam poetryperformance poetrylove poems
32

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    I like how the piece flows from line to line, and the self-affirming message is such a powerful one! “Never laid to rest on the body of a page that lived a full life” is a great bit of imagery.

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Oh, wow - this is simply stunning. A gorgeously woven poem with so much profound meaning. 💗

  • And the stars have gotten it right, Oneg. Blessed holidays to you and yours.

  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    I love how you end with "collaboration with myself". We can be one but different people at different times indeed. Great work. Congrats on your top story!

  • Natalie Wilkinson4 months ago

    Yes, it feels complete. Congratulations on a well-deserved Top Story star.

  • Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Wow! You were def in your zone when you finished this. Congrats, Oneg!

  • Rosie J. Sargent4 months ago

    Fabulous work, congratulations on the top story!

  • JBaz4 months ago

    I believe you found your poem. Wonderful

  • Judey Kalchik 4 months ago

    Bravo- YOU are the poem, indeed

  • Melissa Ingoldsby4 months ago

    Congratulations on your top story my friend!! This was very inspiring and well deserved

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Oh...this was awesome. I saw it published and didn't have a chance to read it until now. Loved the thoughts behind it and the thoughts and feelings conveyed in the poem. Love love love. Sublime work, Oneg. Seriously. Congrats on a thoroughly well deserved Top Story!

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    This was a great fun read!

  • I love how your writing process comes full circle and is reflected in the poem. The repetition of "Maybe" captures the essence of what goes on in most of our brains. "lingering tail of a Milky Way fantasy", love it!

  • The Dani Writer4 months ago

    "...the stars have sung that you are enough." 💜 That could soooooo be on a tee-shirt, banner, post-it, and everywhere else right now. Oneg Notes... Your voice is needed. Thank you for writing and sharing!

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    Great poem!!! I adored the first line especially, as well as this one: “Never found anywhere but on the lingering tail of a Milky Way fantasy”. I also loved the ending!

  • Whoaaaa. It's so fascinating that you did a collab with yourself. Past Oneg and current Oneg. That's mindblowing! Your poem was so profound!

  • Brenton F4 months ago

    This truly an outstanding piece of work! That first line!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Love the poem and the back story!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Wow. This is fantastic. I'm glad you found your voice because it's incredible.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby4 months ago

    Very deep my friend, I feel this a lot lately as I'm trying to rediscover my voice after this surgery. Great work as always

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.