Poets logo

Tonight

Is beautiful

By James U. RizziPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
9
Tonight
Photo by Vasily Koloda on Unsplash

Tonight your eyes catch mine

From across the room in a crowded hall

You heavenly lip shaded grin

Makes my heart stall

Tonight

Tonight I’ll sing

Songs of serenading

Oh how long I have been waiting

Tonight

I learn your name

And you learn mine just the same

Tonight

I show you love

I hold you close

Tell you, you mean the most

Tonight

My approach is waning

The thrill off confidence dissipating

The passion I feel is all to real

But tonight your heart I will not steal

Tonight

Drifts on

I’ve waited to long

The wells gone dry

You drift right by

My move was internally thwarted

My circuits have shorted

Tonight

I’ve reaped what I’ve sewn

Because tonight,

I leave here alone

sad poetry
9

About the Creator

James U. Rizzi

I cant wait to see what I can create here.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Sathishkumar S3 months ago

    nice

  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    Ooh I had such high hopes at the beginning then you tore my heart apart. Well done 👏

  • James Daniel 11 months ago

    You took us from safety to uncertainty, then to psychological dread. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.