Poets logo

You’ve Gifted Me Rest

Even when it seems I will never fall asleep

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
10
You’ve Gifted Me Rest
Photo by Susan Wilkinson on Unsplash

The edge of the duvet,

Where the comforter had slipped out,

(A gazillion times already)

Comforts me.

Like the way I grip the hem of your shirt,

Between two fingers so innocently,

Index and thumb,

Moving fabric back and forth,

Back and forth.

I try to lull myself to sleep,

On the edge of your shirt,

An obsessive yet soothing habit,

One that lets me know you’re there,

You’re still there.

Let’s me know I’m not alone,

Or weird,

Let’s me know I’m safe,

As your warm hand traces circles,

On my cool skin.

A roadmap made of memories and meaningful moments,

Back and forth,

Up and down,

I let you lull me to sleep,

As hard as it may be to fully trust in another person.

I let you shut me up,

As my mind races all over,

Yet you’re still here,

And the comforter is still somewhere drowning in duvet,

As I am still here, drowning in your warmth.

(A gazillion times already)

Knowing that even on the edge of everything,

You’ll be there to catch me, and whisper

“You don’t ever need to let go”

love poems
10

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Oh, I just adore this, Oneg. This is so pure and so beautiful.

  • Awww, this was so SO sweet! Loved your poem!

  • Such tender reassurances & the wondrous effect they have.

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Oh my, this is so intimate and deep. I feel like i am eavesdropping on a private and special moment. I hope that all is well with your mind, body and soul. Hugs and blessings. Peace out.🕊️🤍

  • Emma Kate Coleman5 months ago

    Cute. ☺️

  • The Dani Writer5 months ago

    That was put together so well. Felt like jigsaw pieces to a puzzle that I caught on to and then knew where they each fit. Such a good feeling! Glad you shared, Oneg 💗

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Left the love!!! Superbly written!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.