Poets logo

holding my heavy heart

when will "enough" be heard over rage

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
21
holding my heavy heart
Photo by Ante Hamersmit on Unsplash

My insides feel trapped

Skin and bones hold up forced borders of my assigned existence

There's too much dense air between ligaments

Shrapnel layered discs pile up my curved spine

Weighted shoulders hold heavy unheard prayers

/

There's a ringing in my ears

Smoke in my tear-filled eyes

The stench of sulfur and upturned soil tries to mask scorched flesh as dust tries to settle

/

I wish to close my eyes

But I cannot turn away from the screaming and outstretched arms

/

Why do you harm each other

/

My body is endless, pocket-marked but still here

You too, are pocket-marked, but still here

(I see you, I hear you)

/

Everything hurts and everything shakes

Every truth sits on the edge of a blade

In the crack in crumpling concrete and ripple of wave

Why does a storm always have to rage

Before any rainbow can show some grace

(When will there finally be grace?)

social commentaryCONTENT WARNING
21

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • J. Delaney-Howea day ago

    Just as moving as when I first read it. This is a really great piece.

  • Powerful, compelling, and relatable! You can always tell when true emotions inspire writing and this reads as deep as the emotions you evoke with it! I loved reading it and subscribed for all that is yet to come!

  • You evoked so many images and emotions with this powerful piece well done

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    Big time realities. Big time feels. It is the season of releasing. This can only help. *Gentle hugs*

  • J. Delaney-Howe6 months ago

    So raw and yet so relatable to so many in these times. It feels funny to say good poem given the topic, but this is really well done. I felt everyword. And I love that you ended with a question.

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    I'm not quite ready to think the rainbow is coming.

  • ThatWriterWoman6 months ago

    That final line - Stunning work Oneg!

  • This is very insightful. I sense your contemplative feelings of sorrow and fear. This is one of your best pieces with each word perfectly conveying your emotions.

  • I read this one the other day, I was super busy, but I'm back to like and share love ❤️ Great job on this piece❗

  • I often find myself asking the same questions of theodicy. Truth is, it is everywhere, all around us. It just doesn't always feel like it.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Oh my. This is so sad, and so powerful. Heartbreaking.

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    I asked the same question. Israel may be far away but the war affect us all. We know this day was coming but we can never be prepare for human brutality . This a wonderful piece. I hope you find comfort in writing this. Sending you hugs and comforting thoughts your way. This must be hard to explain this to your students. It’s no a good time for kids to see this on social media.

  • Whoaaa, this was so powerful! Gosh you have a way with words!

  • Maureen Y. Palmer7 months ago

    Wow, this was really powerful! <3

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Awesome social commentary poem!!! Loving it, Oneg!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Test7 months ago

    I am shaking inside out. So fucking powerful. I felt every word to my core,

  • Luther7 months ago

    I loved it ❤️ Hope my stories gets to this point 😪😪 What type of stories do you guys like🤗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.