Fiction logo

The Prose Teacher

A micro fiction

By Shane DobbiePublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2023
58

A time ago there was once -

‘No. Again!’

The rod whipped through the air and across my knuckles, drawing blood. It dripped through my fingers onto my keyboard.

‘Your prose clunks like a pianist playing bad notes. A great pianist loses their audience in the music; their craft is invisible.’

She tapped my keyboard. ‘This is your instrument. The reader cares not how you type, just the words you play. They should not, like bad notes, draw attention to themselves. Again!’

Once upon a time…

I hesitate.

She nods. ‘Better. Much better. Continue.’

Short StoryHorror
58

About the Creator

Shane Dobbie

If writing is a performance art then I’m tap dancing in wellies.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (42)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephanie J. Bradberry11 months ago

    Simply superb. I'm glad I got to see that magical sentence in action (The rod whipped through the air and across my knuckles, drawing blood.).

  • J. Jay11 months ago

    Getting Whiplash vibes. Great work

  • F. Leonora Solomon11 months ago

    oh gosh, Shane, i connect with this story more than i even want to! 😉

  • Phil Flannery11 months ago

    Man! I hope 'she' is a metaphor for your own drive to be better, otherwise you need to change classes. Still you should have put a trigger warning for all of us catholic school survivors. Just kidding.

  • Heather N King11 months ago

    Wow. I felt this in my soul and fingers. We’ve all been there. Keep writing! You got this. 😉

  • Test11 months ago

    Hahaha. I think that Prose Teacher has tenure in my head. Great stuff!

  • J. Delaney-Howe11 months ago

    Great story. I'm glad I never had a teacher like that. I am old enough to have taken a typing class in high school!

  • Ayyan Khanani11 months ago

    Congratulations!!! Check out some of my writings too <3

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    I always wondered what happened to Mrs. Jones. 🤣 Great story Shane.Congratulations 🥇

  • Loryne Andawey11 months ago

    Whoohoo! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Caroline Jane11 months ago

    This is great! Congratulations ❤️

  • Congratulations on your Top Story✨💖🎉

  • Gal Mux11 months ago

    I felt this one...

  • Ahamed Thousif11 months ago

    Amazing work Shane!!! and congratz on Top Story.

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story, Shane!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad11 months ago

    This is relatable, hilarious, and a bit horrifying. Great work.

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    Ouch? Ah, the dangers of clichés... I wouldn't touch one with a ten-foot pole... Thwack! Great Top Story!

  • Lisa Herdman11 months ago

    Congrats on top story! I really love this challenge and the great stories it brings out.

  • Great story and congratulations on your top story

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Ouch. Congratulations!

  • AngelBee11 months ago

    I'm not gonna lie I really like this! I like how short this is but yet very interesting.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    Ohh excellent ❤️❤️❤️

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Ouch, I've been cracked across the knuckles before in school, but this is another level, lol. And blood is flying for the first line? brutal Congratulations on Top Story!

  • JBaz11 months ago

    Congratulation. I guess you put the coma in the correct place. 😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.