Longevity logo

My Story of Fighting Cancer and Regrowing My Hair with a Red Light Therapy Hat

Craig Smith

By Health FirstPublished 10 months ago 5 min read
Like

I was diagnosed with breast cancer when I was 32 years old. It was a shock to me and my family, as I had no family history of the disease and I was otherwise healthy and active. I had to undergo surgery, chemotherapy, and radiation therapy to fight the cancer. It was a long and hard battle, but I was determined to survive and beat it.

One of the most difficult parts of the treatment was losing my hair. I had always loved my long, brown, curly hair. It was a part of my identity and my femininity. I felt beautiful and confident with my hair. When I started chemotherapy, I knew that I would lose my hair eventually, but I was not prepared for how fast and how much it would happen.

It started with a few strands falling out when I brushed my hair. Then it became clumps of hair on my pillow, in the shower, and on the floor. Within a few weeks, I had bald patches on my scalp and thinning hair everywhere else. I decided to shave off the remaining hair, as it was too painful to see it fall out every day.

I tried to cope with my hair loss by wearing wigs, hats, scarves, and bandanas. I also bought some makeup products to draw eyebrows and eyelashes. I wanted to look normal and not let anyone know that I was sick. But deep down, I felt insecure and depressed. I hated looking at myself in the mirror and seeing a stranger staring back at me. I felt like I had lost a part of myself along with my hair.

I also felt alone and isolated. None of my friends or family members had gone through the same experience. They tried to be supportive and encouraging, but they did not understand how I felt. They told me that hair loss was temporary and that it would grow back after treatment. They told me that hair was not important and that I should focus on my health and recovery. They told me that I was still beautiful and that they loved me no matter what.

But I did not believe them. I felt ugly and unattractive. I felt like no one would ever find me desirable or love me again. I felt like I had lost my hope and joy in life.

I finished my radiation therapy six months ago. The doctors told me that the cancer was gone and that I was in remission. They also told me that my hair would start growing back soon. But it did not happen as fast or as well as I expected.

My hair grew back very slowly and unevenly. Some areas were still bald or patchy, while others had thin or fine hair. My new hair was also different from my old hair. It was lighter, grayer, coarser, and straighter than before. It looked dull and lifeless.

I tried to style it with different products and tools, but nothing worked. I tried to dye it with different colors, but they did not look natural or flattering on me. I tried to cut it with different lengths and shapes, but they did not suit me or make me feel better.

I was frustrated and disappointed with my hair regrowth. I thought that once the treatment was over, everything would go back to normal. But it did not happen that way. My hair loss had changed me forever.

That’s when I discovered red light therapy.

Red light therapy is a type of low-level laser therapy that uses red or near-infrared light to stimulate hair growth. It works by increasing blood flow, oxygen, and nutrients to the hair follicles and activating the energy-producing parts of the cells (mitochondria). This helps the hair follicles resume their normal cycle of growth and produce new hair.

I learned about red light therapy from an online article that explained its benefits for hair loss. The article cited some studies that showed that red light therapy can improve hair density, thickness, and coverage in people with different types of hair loss . The article also mentioned some products that use best red light therapy for hair growth, such as a red light therapy hat.

A red light therapy hat is a wearable device that fits over your head and emits red light to your scalp. It is easy to use and convenient, as you can wear it while doing other activities at home or outside. It is also painless, non-invasive, and safe.

I decided to give it a try and ordered a red light therapy cap online. It arrived in a few days and came with clear instructions on how to use it properly. It also had a good warranty and customer service.

I started using the red light therapy cap every day for 20 minutes as recommended by the manufacturer. At first, I did not notice any difference in my hair or scalp. But after a few weeks, I started seeing some changes.

My scalp felt healthier and less irritated. My hair felt softer and smoother. My bald patches started filling in with new hair. My thin hair started becoming thicker and fuller. My hair color started becoming darker and richer.

I was amazed and delighted by the results. I felt like my hair was coming back to life. I felt like I was regaining my confidence and happiness.

I have been using the red light therapy cap for three months now and I am very satisfied with it. My hair has improved significantly in terms of quantity and quality. It looks and feels more like my old hair, but even better.

I still wear wigs, hats, scarves, and bandanas sometimes, but not because I have to, but because I want to. I enjoy changing my look and having fun with my hair. I also use makeup products to enhance my features and express my personality. I love looking at myself in the mirror and seeing a beautiful woman smiling back at me.

I also feel more connected and supported by my family, friends, and other people who have gone through similar experiences. I joined a support group, online community, and counseling service that offer me emotional support and practical advice. I also share my feelings and concerns with someone I trust and who can listen to me without judgment.

I feel more hopeful and optimistic about my future. I know that I have survived a difficult challenge and that I have become stronger and wiser because of it. I know that I have many other qualities and strengths that make me unique and valuable. I know that I have many other goals and dreams that I can pursue and achieve.

I know that I am more than my hair. But I also know that my hair is a part of me and that I can love it and take care of it.

I hope this article has given you some useful information and tips on how to cope with radiation-induced hair loss. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to share them below. I would love to hear from you and learn from your experiences. Thank you for reading!

self carewellnesssciencehow tobodyagingadvice
Like

About the Creator

Health First

Let's get healthy! And things will change someday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.