Longevity logo

My Hair Journey: From Prenatal Vitamins to Red Light Therapy

Gracie Smith

By Healthy FunPublished 9 months ago 5 min read
Like

I have always had fine and thin hair, but I never really cared about it until I got pregnant. I was so excited to see my baby bump grow, but I was also hoping for some changes in my hair. I had heard that taking prenatal vitamins can make your hair grow faster and thicker during pregnancy, so I decided to give it a try.

I bought a bottle of prenatal vitamins from the pharmacy and started taking them every day. I also ate a healthy diet and drank plenty of water. I was expecting to see some results in a few weeks, but nothing happened. My hair looked the same as before, maybe even worse. It was dull, dry, and brittle. It broke easily and fell out in clumps. I was so disappointed and frustrated.

I wondered if I was doing something wrong, or if the prenatal vitamins were not working for me. I did some research online and found out that prenatal vitamins are not a magic bullet for hair growth. They may not work for everyone, and they may not make a noticeable difference if you already have a balanced diet and healthy hair. Moreover, some of the hair growth benefits may be temporary and related to hormonal changes during pregnancy. After giving birth, estrogen levels drop and hair loss may occur.

I also learned that prenatal vitamins may have some side effects or risks. Some people may experience nausea, constipation, diarrhea, or stomach upset from taking these supplements. They may also interact with certain medications or conditions. For example, they should not be taken by people who have hemochromatosis, a genetic disorder that causes iron overload in the body. They may also interfere with some antibiotics, anticonvulsants, or blood thinners.

Another potential risk of prenatal vitamins is overdosing on certain nutrients. While most of the vitamins and minerals in these supplements are water-soluble and excreted by the body, some are fat-soluble and can accumulate in the tissues. This can cause toxicity or adverse effects on the liver, kidneys, bones, or nervous system. For example, too much vitamin A can cause birth defects in the baby or liver damage in the mother. Too much iron can cause oxidative stress and inflammation in the body.

I was shocked by what I read and decided to stop taking the prenatal vitamins. I felt like I had wasted my money and time on something that did not work for me and could harm me or my baby. I was still desperate for a solution to my hair problem, but I did not know what else to do.

That’s when I came across an article about red light therapy hair regrowth. It sounded too good to be true, but I was intrigued by the science behind it. Red light therapy is a treatment that involves exposing your scalp to low-levels of red and near-infrared light. These wavelengths of light can penetrate the skin and stimulate cellular activity in the hair follicles. This can increase blood flow, oxygen delivery, nutrient uptake, and energy production in the scalp and hair roots. It can also reduce inflammation, oxidative stress, and DHT levels in the scalp. DHT is a hormone that can shrink hair follicles and cause hair loss.

The article claimed that red light therapy can increase hair growth by over 35% in both men and women with pattern baldness . It can also work for people who have other types of hair loss, such as alopecia areata, chemotherapy-induced alopecia, or thyroid-related alopecia. It said that red light therapy is convenient, safe, and affordable. You can use it at home with a device such as a red light therapy cap, which fits over your head like a hat and delivers optimal doses of light to your scalp. You only need to use it for a few minutes a day, every other day, for 16 weeks or more to see results.

I was amazed by the testimonials and before-and-after pictures from real users who had experienced amazing results with red light therapy. Their hair looked thicker, stronger, and shinier than before. They said they felt more confident and happy with their appearance. They also said they had no side effects or risks from using red light therapy.

I decided to give it a try and ordered a red light therapy cap online. It arrived in a few days and I was eager to use it. I followed the instructions and put it on my head for 10 minutes every other day. It felt warm and comfortable on my scalp, like a gentle massage.

After four weeks of using it, I noticed some changes in my hair. It felt softer and smoother than before. It also looked more shiny and healthy. After eight weeks of using it, I saw some new growth on my scalp. My hairline was filling up with baby hairs that were growing longer and thicker every day. After 16 weeks of using it, I was stunned by the difference. My hair was fuller and denser than ever. It had more volume and bounce. It also had more color and vibrancy. I looked like a new person.

I was so happy with the results that I continued to use the red light therapy cap every other day. I also took care of my hair by washing it with gentle shampoo and conditioner, using natural oils and masks, and avoiding heat styling and chemical treatments. I also ate a balanced diet and drank plenty of water. I felt like I had found the perfect solution for my hair problem.

I am now in my third trimester of pregnancy and I can’t wait to meet my baby. I am also looking forward to showing off my new hair to my family and friends. I feel more beautiful and confident than ever. I am so glad I discovered red light therapy for hair growth. It changed my life.

If you are interested in trying red light therapy for hair growth, you can check out some of the best red light therapy for hair loss on the market. You can also read some of the reviews and stories from other users who have tried it. You may be surprised by how much it can help you.

Have you tried prenatal vitamins or red light therapy for hair growth? What was your experience? Share your thoughts and stories in the comments below!

lifestylehow tohealthfitnessbodybeautyadvice
Like

About the Creator

Healthy Fun

After years of exploration, I believe that health is the secret to happiness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.