Longevity logo

Emotional food reactions

or welcome to fear

By Donna Morgan Published 8 days ago 3 min read
Emotional food reactions
Photo by Lily Banse on Unsplash

Emotional food reactions

Emotional food reactions are real.

Today's wisdom comes from the very real reactions of being intolerant to different foods, spices, herbs etc.

So let me see if I can put into words the feelings and reactions that happen when something doesn’t sit right in our system's delicate balance.

What is this

This fear is feel

Why

There is nothing wrong no threat or scare

Why then these reactions to hide and shy away

Why the feeling of not being able to speak to anyone

I must hideaway

A flash of insight

A rumble in the gut

The delicate balance upset by what

Tiredness

Lethargy

Apathy too

Feeling not right but not unwell

Arrgh in the flash of insight that the body throws up, the chocolate on a gluten free lamington is to blame

Oh but wait there is more to see

The soy based tofu that grumbles through ready to purge everything old and new

The spices and pepper in the clear veg soup

Hell and crap

This isn't going to be good

Lapses in awareness

A moment in time

It then takes days for the system to calm and realign

Maybe it is time to drink my food

Eating is so hard when your limit gets smaller every time you turn around

The fear rises, the hermit cave calls, the pain is real

The grumbling real

Followed by anxiety bordering on paranoia.

Feeling exposed and raw

Vulnerable to attack

What the hell

How did this happen

Food is not fun

Eating gets harder if you try to change things up.

Cleansing upsets the delicate gut

The emotions rise and fear escalates.

Run stay in the shadows don’t be seen someone will know

The body can't cope so it purges away

The feeling of fear stays

Shame fills you at every turn

How did this happen

Why can’t I be normal

Why am experiencing this cycle again?

These are just a few feelings I have tried to put into words for those who suffer from the way food reacts. It is different for everyone but from my observation and others I have spoken to it can feel like a war going on, one that we are losing as feel attacked from within.

It can feel overwhelming and lonely.

especially when others don't understand, when your family doesn't understand and they say things like well we wanted to go out to dinner to celebrate but itsto hard to know if they have food you can eat.

When you know that even being invited to a get together or travelling puts a lot of extra pressure on you and then you worry about the reaction of others. But why, why do we worry about how others react isn't that their stuff to deal with?

Yes, but when you are having flashbacks to the last time you were somewhere and had a reaction to something in the food your body begins to shift into fear and rational goes out the door.

You remember it all

So my question to those who have a normal digestive function is the next time you meet someone and they appear distant or unengaged they don’t ask questions or carry on a conversation with you, does this trigger you?

I know from the side of appearing unengaged it is just the opposite, it is the feeling of needing to run and hide because something in my system has shifted and hasn’t sat well, so in these times I can't engage, I am constantly looking for the nearest escape route or restroom in case I need it and fearful that others will know what is going on inside.

Would I love to ask questions usually yes, I am a curious person yet when the food allergies hit there is nothing but fear and hiding.

So for those of you who have someone in your life with food intolerances and food allergies please be gentle and understanding.

This is my insight into the awareness of eating what your body needs not what your tongue wants think about that the next time you decide to put something into your body.

I leave you with a blessing for a beautiful day filled with life and connection.

wellnessself caremental healthhealthdietbodyadvice

About the Creator

Donna Morgan

I am a lover of the mystical the magical and the spiritual.

I write to heal myself and to share my journey with anxiety and life that I experience through my feelings.

I love to write it is my healing place.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Darkos8 days ago

    Thank You for writing Your experience and sharing I can so relate I never had someone to talk about it all too whenever I did I was consumed with irrationality but these all food and energy do change the mood and chemical reactions and it's true it's not that fast to clean from it all that's why I need use Qigong at least for energy cleaning from it all ! and sometimes if we eat outside people another energy go there inside and we do react with sadness or panic attacks it happens to me a lot and only healing meditation works even going for shopping and buying product need clean from all otherwise sensitive souls get a turmoil it's not a fun but I am so happy to find You here and not feel alone with this all ! Changing the food energy before eating is also an option 😊🌞🌷🩷

Donna Morgan Written by Donna Morgan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.