Longevity logo

An Everything Moment

Everything you need.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 4 months ago 3 min read
13
An Everything Moment
Photo by Aleksandr Ledogorov on Unsplash

Have you ever had “An Everything Moment”?

I bet you have! But maybe you call it something else… a highlight? A moment of peace? Or a glimmer? A bucket filler?

Well that is essentially what An Everything Moment is.

It’s a moment in time and space where you feel complete contentment, at peace and just genuine joy. They happen naturally and often unexpectedly.

In those moments I will usually mutter to myself “This is my everything”, just as validation or confirmation for myself.

The idea of it is that I have everything I need in that moment. Or all the elements of my life that mean something to me are present and I overflowing with joy.

For some of us these moments are far and few between, others they happen almost too often.

In my household they are hard to find, mostly due to stressful work environments. Which I think is what makes them all the more special and hold more value because I get to stop and enjoy them. I have more appreciation for them as I know I’ll need to hold on to that peace in my coming moments of chaos.

I will always take a moment, take a mental picture, take a deep breath and just soak up the joy and contentment I feel in that moment. Try to let it last a little longer before it ends, just as all good things do.

What makes them An Everything Moment is things that bring me complete joy that feel like they are sinking all the way into my soul. It feels like when the first rays of summer sun hit your skin and you just soak up all the good feelings.

Now I would like to share with you the last couple “Everything Moments” that I’ve had recently.

This one was a couple weeks ago.

My husband and I were laying in bed (behave yourselves… this isn’t in the filthy community) watching one of our favourite Christmas movies.

We each had a glass of our favourite wine, our string Christmas lights were turned on, our small light up tree was on and so was our electric fireplace.

“The Ambiance” as my husband calls it, often shouts with extra enthusiasm.

We had all three cats laying on their beds or in front of the fire and the hedgehog was cuddled up in a blanket beside me.

This may not seem like much but in that moment, I felt like time slowed down so I could really absorb the fullness of joy I felt.

What made this An Everything Moment was that I was with my five favourite beings, I had a good drink and a good movie was on. So simple and yet… gave me so much joy. Even now, just recalling that moment, brings me an instant boost of happiness.

This next moment happened at my place of work.

It was PJ day and the last day of classes before winter break.

We had just finished snack time and decided to set up the projector to throw on a movie for the kids. I sat in the back of the room writing the daily reports and reminders in each child’s binder with the classic animated grinch playing in the background.

I had gotten up to put the binders away when I took a moment to pause as I caught a glimpse of all the staff and kids watching the movie, smiling.

I watched as the Grinch’s heart grew three sizes and mine grew at least double that, or more.

What made this An Everything Moment was just the peace that fell over a normally very loud and busy room. There was so much shared joy as we all watched the movie and had a collective sigh of relief.

There was no crying or screaming or chaos, just peace. Which is something I think everyone needs every now and then.

But now that I’ve shared a couple Everything Moments with you all, I’d love to know what brings you total joy. Or better yet, what makes An Everything Moment for you?

wellnessmental healthmeditationlifestylehumanitybeauty
13

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer4 months ago

    Little moments make the best everything moments. I like that you didn't use grand examples just everyday ones where you appreciated the gifts in your life. Side note my wife and I are also Christmas movies with wine, beer, or maybe bourbon (for me). Our whole family is really except the kids don't drink, (not that kind of parent lol). It's one of my favorite traditions. We always watch the classics, but I also like the oddball ones like Surviving Christmas and the tear-jerkers like Love the Coopers. Ok back to the article. This was a great piece. I am a forever optimist and that is what I really took from this- the message to hold on to those everything moments, to keep them in your mind in the times that hurt, to always believe they will come again.

  • Jollyoddbod Poetry4 months ago

    A beautifully written piece Donna. Everything moments can be far and few between, that is what gives them their depth. Thank you for sharing this wonderful piece, especially at a time where so many opportunities for everything moments are misplaced. I look forward to reading more of your work in 2024!

  • Behave yourselves, this isn't in the filthy community 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I laughed so much for that because it felt like you know me so well hahahahahaha! I've only watched How The Grinch Stole Christmas movie but not the cartoon. So watching that clip made my inner child so happy! Also, just wanna double confirm, PJ as is pyjamas? I kept looking at it and thinking peanut and jam without the butter. As in whole peanuts and jam 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Hmmm, that's a good question. I know for sure that reading your stuff and our conversations in comments brings me joy. Other than that, sleep. Sleeping helps me escape reality. I'm so sorry I'm late to read this D. Merry Christmas! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Brin J.4 months ago

    The Grinch moment made my heart all mushy🤣❤️. I could totally see myself experiencing an everything moment like that. In that case, here's my current everything moment: A Harry Potter Christmas Ambiance music/video is playing as I type this. Owls are hooting, snow is falling, and theme music is playing. My cats are lounging on the window sill, the tree is lit with tons of presents sitting under it, I'm sipping on coffee, and my roommates are quietly basking in the ambiance as well. We're all together just enjoying the moment, and it's more magical than I'd expected. It's wholesome😌. Thank you, Donna, for always making it so easy to share things with you. You open up a stage for us to be ourselves and share our magic, whether it be through our creative writing, or a simple experience <3.

  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Reading this article felt like stepping into a cherished memory. I recalled my "everything moment" that quiet morning in the mountains. The air is crisp, the sun is painting the sky in hues of gold, and a gentle breeze creates a symphony with the rustling leaves. In that "everything moment," gratitude filled every breath, reminding me of life's precious beauty. I'll never forget that day!! Okay, now I'm crying. Thank you for this beautiful piece! ❤❤

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    Great piece, Donna!! Can’t say that I know what one of these everything moments feels like. But I’ll keep my eyes and heart peeled for them in future! My brain is always going a mile a minute so can’t recall a moment like that yet though 😅

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Great piece! Wishing you lots more everything moments in 2024.

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    ☺️ Love this. Wish I could find more of these, they are few and far between these days personally, so I’d need to have a think…I really liked your analogies of these types and why they were special. Particularly the shared experience at school. I don’t teach anymore and I miss some of those times so this was a positive reminder when it was peaceful. 😊👏

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    💙

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is such a beautiful piece. I can relate the what you're saying, and I could use one of those moments. I sure I'll get it tomorrow when I see my little nieces. Have a merry Christmas.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I sometimes, rarely, but sometimes, get euphoria as a migraine prodrome. It's a bit different, but in those periods I feel deeply connected and in love with the world. It's when I start expressing that, my partner turns for home! But these moments, like you describe, they come from the fundamentals dont they, not the flashy stuff.

  • Test4 months ago

    Oh Donna, this made my cry x In the nicest way x It's been one hell of a term. And this reminded me of so many beautiful moments. The quiet conversations. Sleepovers that gave them memories.Watching young people grow into themselves.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.