Fiction logo

The Hour Long Minute

A Good Ole Power Nap

By Earl W. PearlPublished 15 days ago Updated 13 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2024
28

I’m finally off of work from my overnight shift and now comes the hard part. I do Ride-share driving for about two or three hours after I get off of work each morning, not only to make ends meet, but to put away a little extra money for my rapidly approaching wedding.

What makes THIS the hard part? Just simply trying to stay awake after nine hours on my feet at my company. We manufacture blood collection kits used by the blood donation outlets and I have to really run around a lot to operate and to maintain the automated machines that produce these units. So I don’t always realize how exhausted I am until I start driving around the city in a comparatively relaxed state.

On this day I pulled up to a red light and watched the clock hit the magical hour of 6:00 a.m. That’s when I turn on my radio to my favorite local sports channel hoping to catch up on the latest with my Denver teams. Often I’m just trying to fill in the gaps for the details of what my boss has already tipped me off to during work, herself being a local sports fan as well. And quite honestly, if their reporting of the game’s highlights are exciting enough, it may help keep me awake.

But invariably I begin thinking of all the things my fiancé still needs me to do in preparation for our rapidly approaching nuptials. As I’m driving around awaiting my first passenger, as usual it quickly becomes a struggle to keep my eyes open.

Right about then my worst nightmare happens. Apparently I dozed off just long enough to run a red light and get t-boned. Suddenly everything I’ve been working towards was now screwed up. What was I thinking? Why didn’t I pull over for a short little rest for crying out loud?

Thank goodness I wasn’t badly injured but my car was totaled. I’ve only had it a year and I spent all my spare cash, plus another thousand dollars, just for the down payment and I still owe more than my insurance will give me as a payoff. And since it was ME who ran the red light, I’M at fault. I was instantly reminded of the gap insurance that I declined. How stupid.

Will I have to ride the bus to get to work now? Could I take a Ride-share? I may DRIVE a Ride-share, but this would be expensive to have to do twice a day. And I don’t have the money for another down payment to put on another vehicle. Should I consider postponing the wedding even though the invites have already gone out? Our out-of-State friends and relatives have already made their travel plans. Can we still afford our honeymoon? I’ve really messed things up.

How could things have turned out so badly, so fast? I should have pulled into a parking lot or that park up ahead for a quick twenty minute power nap. I’ve done it before, I should have done it again.

I’ve had a couple of close calls while “head bobbing” and even swerved out of my lane once or twice. I’m lucky though that I’ve never hit anything (or God forbid, any ONE).

And how do I tell my fiancé? I’ve mentioned to her before how hard it is for me to stay awake after work and she warned me “not to take chances” and that I should “pull over. This could really prove embarrassing. Could THIS even cause her to reconsider who she’s marrying? Nah, I doubt it, but it’s still embarrassing.

I hear a siren coming as I opened my eyes just in time to see a fire truck pass in front of me. And who’s that blaring their horn behind me? My light is green and now already some knucklehead is getting a little impatient.

“Wait. What the…? Did I doze off and then DREAM I dozed off?”

I quickly give my car some gas as my brain fog begins to lift with the rising sun. The radio hosts, Mike and “Stink”, are still saying their good mornings as they sign on. Wow, apparently it’s only been a hot minute since I stopped at the light. Elated, I’m feeling extremely fortunate because I’m getting a second chance.

I instantly realized my blessing as I hollered out, “HALLELUJAH!”

It seems I merely nodded off at the intersection. It was all just a short dream, no harm, no foul. And since I’m no longer willing to tempt fate, I turned around.

I’m tired, I’m going home.

Short Story
28

About the Creator

Earl W. Pearl

I’ve been writing poetry (rhyming mostly) for about 7 years and have recently transitioned to writing novels and short stories. My poetry genres are faith, humor, social issues, politics, pretty much any subject matter.

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsden13 days ago

    Fabulous job! Congrats on your top story

  • Edi Rustandi13 days ago

    Ini cerita unik dan menarik, yg mampu membawa pembaca masuk dialam bawah sadarnya. Sangat luar biasa dan layak dapat bintang.

  • Teresa Renton13 days ago

    Such an important story! You engaged with the inner dialogue that comes with panic well. Congrats for TS 😊

  • Ameer Bibi13 days ago

    Thanks for sharing this story. I mostly do it; we prefer our work to sleep or rest. I hope young readers will get the real message of rest because there is no compromise on sleep for whatever kind of work you do. I can resonate here. Once, my husband was driving the car, and I saw him sleeping with open eyes. I shook his shoulder, and then he stopped at a nearby resting area; after sleeping for at least one hour and having coffee, he was fresh for his next travel.

  • D. D. Lee13 days ago

    I believe most have dozed off at a light before. Congrats on TS.

  • R.R.Hannaman13 days ago

    Ah, the double twist. I was back tracked at the first one when the main character ran a red light because I was sure they were already stopped. Or maybe its seems like they were on their way to the light. On another note it surely is a double edge sword to have a second gig for extra cash, but in order to do it, it has to be right after another shift. The dark side of the grind and hustle movement. I was feeling bad for the guy, but also questioning his choices. Even when it is understandable of the why; why not take an hour nap and do the shift then? I thought these type of gigs provide flexibility.

  • Kendall Defoe 13 days ago

    This felt close to a horror story... Top Story? Indeed! ;)

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • Lamar Wiggins13 days ago

    Congrats on your TS, Earl. Very engaging, real to life story. Glad to see you entering the challenge! Best of luck!

  • Caroline Craven14 days ago

    What a fab top story.

  • Gabriel Huizenga14 days ago

    This is awesome! Gripping and terrifying, then resolved with such relief. You've got an excellent narrative voice, the whole thing felt so natural and real. Congrats on Top Story! :)

  • JBaz14 days ago

    Scary thought , well done with the horror that we thought was taking place and thankfully he decided not to chance it and go home...TODAY... what about the next day and day after that? Congratulations

  • Belle14 days ago

    Congratulations on top story!

  • Earl, I love how this story plays with the fluidity of time and how being in that twilight state between dreaming and waking affects us. Nice job and congrats on TS!

  • Hannah Moore14 days ago

    I got really scared he was just going to carry on there!

  • Novel Allen14 days ago

    Yes there is harm and foul. After nine hours the body needs rest. Doing ride share in that state is dangerous. and never listen to people talking while driving tired, better to blast some dance music and sing along. People could die next time.

  • Shirley Belk15 days ago

    I have bobbed from being exhausted too many times before. It's the same thing as being intoxicated. Keep others, safe too. Pull over. Thank you for "driving" home this point.

  • Margaret Brennan15 days ago

    Absolutely excellent. I was always telling my husband to pull off the road when I saw the fatigue in his eyes. Thank God, he was never in an accident. And now, he's too old for long trips. Another thing to be thankful for. Your story proves a point, and it was very well made.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.