Poets logo

Fuamnach and Eoch

a different take on an Irish myth

By Robyn LittlePublished 11 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024
10

Who am I to stand in the way of romance?

A mother, a wife, a goddess with power

The shrew who couldn’t take being replaced

There are no limits to how I deserve my fate

Midhir and Etain, true love you say?

I say a cul tona and his mistress

Leaving hearts broken in their path

Lest not say the children he forgot

Or the man whose bride was lost

Betrayal is the way of a god

Who am I to stand in the way of romance

A king, a husband, a right and proud man

The fool who couldn’t let the cad have his way

There are no limits to how I deserve my fate

Midhir and Etain, true love you say?

I say a thief stealing a queen

Without a trace left in sight

Leaving holes in my land

Losing my love right where I stand

Betrayal is the way of a god

And careless is the way of a mistress

The son I raised who helped his father betray

The stranger demanding a prize no husband would let him take

The butterfly he dared to bring into my house

The form of my brother he dared to portray

And we are of no importance to their passion they say

Midhir and Etain, true love you say

I say a cheat and a wrecker

Who left destruction in their wake

But it’s their tragedy they say

No matter what lives they take away

Betrayal and carelessness is their way

The tale lives to this day

And tell me did I deserve my fate?

heartbreakBallad
10

About the Creator

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • angela hepworth5 days ago

    Loved the twist on the classic story!

  • Anna 7 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • FullApp Crack8 days ago

    https://fullappcrack.com/tenorshare-tunescare-crack/ "This post deserves a wider audience."

  • Ameer Bibi9 days ago

    Robyn, you showed how difficult human relationships and feelings are by using real people and vivid images in your writing. No one knows about fate, but what we give to others comes back after multiplication, so people who cheat, betray, and make others fools get their karma with a high percentage.

  • Brid Ituka9 days ago

    nice

  • Christy Munson9 days ago

    I'd not read of Fuamnach and Eoch, so I was delighted to learn something and read an entertaining story. Congratulations on Top Story. I enjoyed it!

  • Andrea Corwin 11 days ago

    Ah ha! a new way to call someone out - although I have used this expression in English/American, I had to look up cul tona! Wonderful work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.