Journal logo

Vocal Communities

Subscribing Adds Diversity To My Reading List

By Paula ShabloPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
31
To Be Read (Pixabay)

When I first joined Vocal, and then upgraded to Vocal Plus, there was no option to subscribe to other writers. When I found a favorite, I added their name to a list in a notebook near my computer, and I looked for those readers when I logged on to read.

Hurray for Subscriptions! Well done, Vocal Media!

Since I now have my favorites at my fingertips, I needed another distraction from the work I should be getting done. So I decided to see who, among my choice writers, might be writing for which Community.

This proved to be a daunting task. There are more communities than I was aware of.

Why? Well, obviously, because I haven't written something for each and every community. Nor do I expect to. There are just some things I have no real knowledge about, or no interest in, as far as writing is concerned.

But I do like to read!

I compiled a list of the communities and went in search of writers I currently subscribe to. I was pleased to note that most of the communities are represented by at least one of "my" writers.

The Communities:

01 Community- Rakshit Shah, Easy 7 Steps to Become an Ethical Hacker

Beat Community- Melissa Ingoldsby, The Melancholy of Horror

Blush Community- Courtney Capone, New INK!

Chain Community- S. K, Should We Invest in Cryptocurrency?

Cleats Community- Tom Brad, Is The European Super League About To

Confessions Community- Lindsay Rae Brown, The Woes of the Discount Dye Job

Criminal Community- Colleen Millsteed, The After Effect of a Bank Robbery Was Caffeine Addiction

Earth Community- Angela Derscha, Save The Turtles

Education Community- Jessie Waddell, What My Two Incomplete University Degrees Say About Me

Families Community- Arpad Nagy, Junior High Warm-Ups, Three Movies and a Big Dad Win

Feast Community- Judy Kalchik, Boo! It's Classroom Baked Goods Season

Fiction Community- Jason Morton, "Here's Johnny"

Filthy Community- Aamir Kamal, 15 Best Phone Actress Jobs

Futurism Community- Ashlea Bicknell, "Kiss Him, Not Me" and How it Relates to Shipping

FYI Community- Julie Lacksonen, The History of Flying

Gamers Community- Peter Carriveau, So Collectible Video Game Investment is A Thing

Geeks Community- Laquesha Bailey, If Twilight, Then Here Are 5 Other Cringeworthy

Horror Community- Jessica Conaway, Halloween Kills is a Love Letter to the Franchise

Humans Community- Call Me Les, Tom Bradbury: No Words Left Unspoken Part 1 and Part 2

Journal Community- Maria Calderoni, The Loss of a Dream

Lifehack Community- Maria Shimizu Christenson, Imposter Syndrome Helps My Work and Creativity

Longevity Community- Carol Townend, You Need To Look After Yourself As A Carer

Marriage Community- Joy Nelson, Weddings Are The Worst

Motivation Community- Jill Spiridon, "You're a Writer!" They Proclaim

Pet Life Community- Natasja Rose, A Raincoat For a Fish

Photography Community- Kelsey Reich, Artsy Fartsy

Poets Community- Mike Singleton-Mikeydred, Falling in Love Again

Potent Community- S. Frazer, I Fucked Around With Drugs and Found Out

Pride Community- Josh Lowe, How the Pandemic Helped Me Finally Come Out

Proof Community-

Psyche Community- Caitlin McColl, Comprehending the Incomprehensible

Serve Community- Paul Combs, The Forgotten Role of Africa in World War I

Styled Community- The Dani Writer, Fashionista Shmashionista

Swamp Community- Christine DeFeo, Harambe

Trader Community- Joey Lowe, Trading Chatrooms

Unbalanced Community- Cathy Holmes, *** updated ***The Agony and Ecstasy (But Mostly Agony) of Being a Toroto Maple Leafs Fan

Viva Community- Lisa Gerard Brown, Beauty is In the Eye of Your Hairdresser

Wander Community- Oneg In The Arctic, Bush Tales

Wheel Community- Tom Sullivan, Things I Wish I Learned In School-Buying a Car

What I learned:

I don't write for all of these communities. I focus more on fiction, poetry and personal stories. Many of the writers I follow do much the same, but have branched out into places I haven't ventured. Because they did, when I visited their profiles, I found stories I might otherwise have missed.

I admit that I do not just click on a community like Filthy or Wheels and look for stories. If I didn't follow people who wrote--for example--fiction and poetry, but also wrote about working on their cars, I wouldn't find a "Wheels" story to read.

It does surprise me a little that none of the writers I follow have written in Unbalanced or in Proof. Does that mean I gravitate toward writers who don't drink or play sports?

*** Update: I followed someone who wrote in Unbalanced. See list update above***

Somehow, I doubt that. If you know I follow you, and you have written for those communities, please let me know and I will add you and your story to this list.

Please understand that I do follow many other wonderful writers, but chose not to list multiple people under certain Communities. That doesn't mean I don't love your work. It sort of became I first found, first listed sort of thing.

Did I mention this was a daunting task?

I did this to make a point. Subscribing opens the door to the possibility of finding diverse reading matter. I have now read about trading rooms and cryptocurrency. I read about video games and phone sex.

I have broadened my horizons!

So, Kudos to Vocal Media for making subscribing an option. I thought it would be a good thing--and I was right.

P.S. Have you subscribed to my page? There's a button for that!

(Now I have to decide what Community this goes in. Decisions, decisions!)

If you enjoyed this list, or found something of value to take away from my observations, please consider scrolling down and clicking the heart button to let me know.

Hit "Subscribe" and never miss another story!

Tips are never mandatory, but they are VERY appreciated.

Thank you for reading!

list
31

About the Creator

Paula Shablo

Daughter. Sister. Mother. Grandma. Author. Artist. Caregiver. Musician. Geek.

(Order fluctuates.)

Follow my blog at http://paulashablo.com

Follow my Author page at https://www.amazon.com/Paula-Shablo/e/B01H2HJBHQ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.