Interview logo

Mike Singleton, Writer & Author

Artists and Spiritualists Move The World Series

By Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle AuthorPublished 9 days ago 4 min read

If you've been on Vocal Media for a while then you have heard of Mike Singleton, Writer and Author. An avid appreciator of music, he also writes on a broad range of topics. Putting forward wit and humour and extensive knowledge his articles are always interesting. A prolific contributor he posts many times a week and has a great numbers at a whopping 51,775 reads! If that alone isn't inspiring read more about his perspective here.

May I introduce you to Mike Singleton...

Where are you from and how long have you been writing?

I originate from Preston in Lancashire but moved to Newcastle thirty years ago and grew to love it. I have become an adopted Novocastrian but I am still Prestonian and love going back there as most of my family and boyhood friends are still there.

https://vocal.media/wander/a-day-in-preston-revisiting-my-past-part-one

You have some books out, I've read your collection of short stories and I really enjoyed it. Can you tell us about your books?

While I have always wanted to write a book, I have never had the discipline to write a novel. I can do short stories but that is about my limit.

My first book was a complete accident and I documented it here. After that, I used my Vocal stories to create anthologies and recently issued my sixth book.

https://vocal.media/motivation/the-accidental-book

I followed that up with a piece on publishing using Amazon Kindle, referencing my third publication

https://vocal.media/journal/using-your-vocal-stories-to-self-publish-a-book-using-amazon-s-kindle-direct-publishing

I don’t see myself as a professional author but digital publishing has made writing, like music, accessible to everyone and as such, means that I can indulge in my hobby when I want. I have sold 150 copies which is a lot more than I ever expected, so I do see myself as successful.

Do you have a preference for book writing over blogs or are each equally satisfying to you?

I started my blog in 2007 and think that helped me feel confident about putting my ideas out there. I always hoped that it would give me the idea to write a novel and despite a few attempts I still have the wreckage on my computer.

In 2021 I joined up with Vocal, and haven’t looked back. I was incredibly fortunate to find a Muse who has been the reason I can be inspired by almost anything. I keep my blog to comment on whatever hard copy book I am reading with links back to Vocal in the hope of drawing in new readers.

How do you find the writing process? Do you plan and structure what you write or just wing it?

A lot of both. I have structures I fit my writing into, but once I am happy with the structure, I can wing it but remain within my defined confines, though ironically I hate limiting myself.

What do you think is the most important aspect of writing: being creative, or making a point, or conveying meaning that will appeal to a large reader audience?

While I like my work to be read, I do not write to fit with current trends. I always hope my work will engender enough interest to make me a little coffee money. I think this is the great thing about the Vocal model. You can be rewarded for getting people to read your work, and it is very quick to publish a story.

What are your plans for your future writing?

To keep on doing what I am doing. That means almost daily Vocal stories, maybe a book anthology every six months and possibly, eventually a novel.

I intend to be around for a very long time.

What is the highlight of your writing career?

This is difficult because I regard everything positive as good. The fact that I have a large Vocal audience is positive but I know two one-dollar tips from my friend Les were what made me believe that people could appreciate my work.

There are a lot of pieces that I am proud of, this is probably one of my best:

https://vocal.media/poets/another-raven

If you could impart some advice to writer, what would it be?

Believe in yourself, and never be afraid to ask for help.

Also read, read, read because it shows you what can be done.

Authentic and charming, never afraid to query or make a point, is in the work of Mike Singleton. One of the best bloggers there is and a great short storyteller. Thank you Mike for your insights on writing, it is much appreciated. We look forward to your next articles and blogs, browse through his Vocal Profile today.

*

This interview is part of my series Spiritualists and Artists Move The World. Links to other Interviews in this series:

Spiritual Steps Cultural Steps of Genealogy Embedded Throughout World Charms

Dhawy Febrianti, Writer, Blogger

Sister Mariam Caterina

Canella and Satsang

Mervin and 108 Living Gurus

Ray Robinson, DFA, Artist

Lynda Buckland, Reiki Master

Tomas Robertson, Artist

Kate Silvia, Psychic & Spiritually Gifted

Joan Spalding, Musician

Ladybug Reborn, Writer

Cendrine Marrouat, Poet

Melissa Ingoldsby, Writer, Author

Caitlin McColl, Writer, Blogger

A Mystic's Drift In Societal Whoas, Lachapelle, Poet, Author

Copyright © 2023 Lisa A Lachapelle. All rights reserved.

Lisa Lachapelle’s links: Vocal Stories & My Books Website

Leave a tip or a pledge if you wish to and I in turn will wish for you.

VocalCreatorsAuthors

About the Creator

Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Author

Published Poet and Author. Making rainy days feel like Sundays with words.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Novel Allen6 days ago

    I tell Mike that he is the Father of us creators here on Vocal...next to The All Father, that is. His views and well needed info hold a wealth of knowledge. Really great interview.

  • Jabir Shoo8 days ago

    An awesome Interview. You described a writer in a writing language Writers understand more of what you are writing.

  • THIS IS AN EXTRA MARVELOUS INTERVIEW!

  • Never be afraid to ask for help is something I struggle with but I'm trying. I enjoyed this interview!

  • Sweileh 8889 days ago

    Interesting and delicious content, keep posting more.

  • Thank you so much for letting me tell people a little about myself

  • Babs Iverson9 days ago

    Fabulous interview!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle AuthorWritten by Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Author

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.