Interview logo

An Interview With Caitlin McColl

On Writing

By Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle AuthorPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
21
Photo by Ann Nekr from Pexels

An interview on the topic of writing as an expression of a writer's work and their soul is an important thing to do. It gives the reader a personal insight into their favorite writer and gives the writer an opportunity to say hello. Caitlin McColl is a Writer for Online Media that I admire greatly and throw many hearts to her work. She has charm and professionalism. An all-around very nice woman with youthful enthusiasm, a great sense of humor, and an excellent work ethic. Please take a moment to read her work here on Vocal and you will see the diversity in her writing and her wonderful presentation.

May I introduce to you Caitlin McColl.

Biography

Born in Calgary Alberta, 3 months premature at 1 lb 14oz, and in the record books at the hospital, I was born at in 1979. Moved to the Lower Mainland area of British Columbia at 3 years old and was raised in North Vancouver. Lived in Scotland for 5 years after finishing University in 2003, and married my Scottish husband in the Scottish Highlands, then moved back to Canada in 2007. Started writing when I was about 5 years old and wrote sci-fi/fantasy stories as a kid and also Stark Trek (TNG) fan fiction (haha) as a teen. Have been a huge book lover my whole life!

Photo by Maria Tyutina from Pexels

Interview

1) Describe in one word what writing means to you

One word? That’s impossible! haha Because it means so much to me it’s hard to distill down into just one word, but if I had to it would be: Realness. And by that I mean, I’m able to put the real me onto the page, either in my non-fiction and also bits of me in my fiction writing (because how can it not be me? It comes from my imagination).

I love that Caitlin reflects on her authentic self in answering and how that totally fits.

2. At what point in your life did you call yourself a ‘writer’? While working on a book, after being published, starting a journal, or getting up in the middle of the night and writing an idea down, or…?

I don’t know if I have ever called myself a writer, really. Not to other people. I tell people I write, but not that I’m a writer. But if I was to choose one of those examples in your question it would be while working on my first book, I guess. I still don’t really think of myself as a writer/author, but I guess since I write, I’m a writer!

3. Do you consider writing skill or art?

A bit of both. I think you need skill, but there’s also a degree of craft and art to it. There isn’t a set of ‘writing rules’ really, and finding your unique voice as a writer is an art.

4. Favorite genre?

Fantasy. I grew up reading books about dragons and magic etc. so it’s my first love.

5. Would you say the driving force to write is pre-destined, as in you were always meant to write or motivated externally, something you just fell into for fun and kept at it?

Personally, it was something I fell into when I was a kid (and I can’t even remember why or how I started) and enjoyed it so just continued.

6. Do you think there are barriers to publishing today?

Yes and no. I think there are more avenues for writers today to get published (i.e. self-publishing), but I think getting traditionally published with the ‘big 5’, for example, is probably harder today than it was in the past (or at least it feels that way, probably because everyone and their dog wants to be a writer and get published by Random House, etc).

7. Favorite book?

I don’t know if I have a favourite book. Or even a favourite author. But one of my favourite’s from the last few years is The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

8. Favorite thing to do while writing?

Drinking a coffee (normally latte or cappuccino). I don’t feel like I should be writing without a coffee! (I do most of my writing in the morning). If it’s in the evening I drink tea.

9. Do you think the act of writing is goal-oriented (I have to get this story done) or process-oriented (I’m just going to write away forever on anything).

Personally, for me it’s goal-oriented. I don’t think I could write away forever on something without an end goal in mind. When I write I write with the aim to finish it (and then edit, edit, edit forever and ever it feels!)

10. What advice would you give an aspiring writer?

I don’t think I have any advice better than Stephen King, so I’ll quote two things from him here because he gives great advice in his book On Writing:

1. If you want to be a writer you must do 2 things above all others: read a lot and write a lot

2. You can, you should, and if you’re brave enough to start, you will.

Thank you to Caitlin for doing this Interview exchange with me. It was a great experience and very valued and appreciated, a pleasure.

Readers can experience Caitlin's work here on Vocal or Medium. Read: My Series , My Short Stories , My Novels , My Poetry One & Two , Aeternum Tom Bradbury.

LINKS to Caitlins work: Her Vocal Profile

Her Website

Photo by Los Muertos Crew from Pexels

By Lisa Lachapelle, Writer, Author. More of her work here and here.

Creators
21

About the Creator

Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Author

Published Poet and Author. Making rainy days feel like Sundays with words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.