Interview logo

Artist Tomas Robertson

Interview

By Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle AuthorPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
9
Artwork by Tomas Robertson of Ontario Canada

Meet Tomas Robertson of Ontario, Canada. Tomas is an interesting achiever with his artwork. Having a never-ending symbolism with style and composition that is all his own, which is why I really wanted to do this interview with him. Bold colours and strong lines are his creative strengths along with a fresh perspective. This interview series is devoted to the arts, the creatives. The writers, musicians, actors, and visual artists of which Tomas is the first I have interviewed. May I introduce you...

Artist Tomas Robertson

Q. At what age did you start doing art?

A. I've been told I've been drawing since I was 2 years old.

So you are a natural then, that is awesome.

Q. Do you do any other forms of art, writing or music, and what is your favourite form to work with?

A. Mainly art for me, but I enjoy all forms and mediums. From working with clay, to simply sketching or painting.

Q. Who are your favourite artists?

A. My favourite artists are Salvador Dali and Piccaso.

Q. Would you say that they have influenced your work?

A. They definitely influenced my artwork. I like the way they seem to alter reality in their art. The way Dali can hide something within shapes or the way Picasso paints a face. In a lot of my work, I like this style of surreal or abstract.

A couple of the greatest "greats," what better influences to have.

Q. Did you study art in school or are you self studied?

A. I took art all throughout high school and found myself always sketching in my other classes as well. I had a math teacher that would let me hang my sketches in the back of the room. But my favourite art teacher in high school was Sue Galos. I always loved how she painted. She was a true inspiration.

Q. Your favourite medium?

A. I love to work with acrylic paints. But I also enjoy watercolours.

Q. What is your favourite subject matter?

A. For me, I love to do more abstract paintings. But have recently found a love for painting the sky. I would love to dive into a series of sky paintings with my own twist involved. I also love to draw/paint eyes. A lot of my pencil designs that are more abstract start with an eye that grows into something more. I would also really love to get a colouring book made up of my sketches in the future.

Similar to a non-objective approach then, allowing the piece to evolve as you do it, nice. Sky paintings are a brilliant idea.

Painting by Tomas Robertson of Ontario Canada

Q. What advice would you give an aspiring artist?

The advice I would give an aspiring artist would be to just create. For me, I've found that over the years and piles of sketchbooks, not everything I've created has been perfect. Probably 75% of my sketchbooks have been me trying new things and not necessarily liking every attempt along the way. But then there's that 25% that blows my mind sometimes. Just keep trying new things and grow in your style.

A. That is excellent advice that we can all grow from artistically.

I cannot thank you enough Tomas for doing this interview with me and sharing your creative perspective. I think it is so important and valuable to others to leave your mark of art on society and most importantly the world around you. I look forward to seeing more of your artwork in the future. Thank you again.

This interview is part of a series that I began in November 2021. Focussed on a well-grounded group of individuals far and wide. Dedicated to preserving, restoring and honouring art, and spirituality in culture and society, in all its many forms.

Creators
9

About the Creator

Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Author

Published Poet and Author. Making rainy days feel like Sundays with words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.