Wander logo

A Day In Preston: Revisiting My Past Part One

An Excuse To Share Some Pictures And Places With You

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 3 min read
The Harris Museum - Due To Reopen in 2025

Introduction

On the 22nd of May 2024, I finally got myself in gear to go back to visit my hometown (hence the Springsteen video) of Preston and treat my sister to a birthday meal which should have happened in August 2023, but you can read about that here:

A lot has changed, but a lot is still the same, and to be honest, it has improved since I was last here.

I don't know if there will be more to follow on from this but I certainly plan to be back down there next month.

In some ways this was almost a reconnaissance visit, to see what was still there and what had changed.

I was up at 4 am and, due to train delays, got home at 8:30 pm but this has prepared me for my next visit. It helped that by using the Trainline App and my senior railcard I got a £140 return journey for a mere £20.

So here is what I saw and found out:

Walking Out Of Preston Station

After getting off the train I walked out of the station up this ramp, overlooked by the "Welcome To Lancashire" wall design. There is also a commemorative blue plaque marking the end of steam locomotives as normal rail transport, but there are still steam trains running on various heritage lines.

And Now My Wander Through Preston

Leaving the station I saw this amazing mural on the Station Hotel and looked over and saw the spire of St Walburge's.

The church was built in the mid-19th century to a design by the Gothic Revival architect Joseph Hansom, the designer of the hansom cab, and has the tallest spire of any parish church in England (94m).

I went out on to Fishergate and there is a shopping centre, but I was so happy to see Brucciannis still there and thriving, next to the United Kingdom's first-ever Kentucky Fried Chicken (I was really surprised to see that still going).

I frequented Bruciannis when I was at school in the sixties and it started here in 1932. There is more information in my link in the introductory paragraph to this piece.

Mount Street Hospital

I then took a turn down Mount Street to see the hospital where I was born in 1957. It is derelict now and I think will probably be turned into flats. It was behind Preston Catholic College which was my school from the sixties into the seventies.

My school is long gone and has been turned into various things including flats and business accommodation, but the school church, St Wilfrid's is still going strong on Winkley Square

I was glad that the doors were open to the public and think it is even more impressive than when I attended from school. Religious architecture always impresses me even though I am not a religious person. My dad is a builder and I did work with him but even this place leaves me awe-struck.

Winkley Square Gardens is a beautiful green square but I didn't have time to walk through it as I did when I lived here, but, as I said this was an exploratory visit and I will be here again and spend some time in Avenham Park which I used to run (well walk) through on school cross-country runs. I think everybody hated cross-country runs but they were probably good for us.

Conclusion

I still have a lot of pictures to share, but they will come in a second post. I was there for around six hours and was impressed by many of the sights I saw and will share those with you over the coming weekend.

Thank you so much for joining me on this wander.

solo traveltravel photographyphotographyguideeuropecultureactivities

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Thank you for the stroll through Preston! I fondly recall my one lovely wander through Avenham Park more than a decade ago. At the time, I didn't know the name of the place and there wasn't time to figure it out as the bus (The Magic Bus) was headed elsewhere just an hour later.

  • Rachel Robbinsabout a month ago

    I used to work at UCLAN, so got to know Preston town centre quite well. It has some lovely architecture, often a surprise around the corner from the modern shopping centre. This was a lovely view and I wish I had visited the Catholic church. It looks really impressive.

  • ROCK about a month ago

    It's a beautiful town; I love train stations and churches. Nice to get a glimpse into your world with photos. I wonder if KFC tastes the same in Europe as it did back in the south growing up stateside. I haven't dared to try it in Sweden. Great tour de MikeyD!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    You mean that is the first ever KFC that was built in the UK? Also, I think you neant 2024 in your first paragraph hehehe

  • Next Kodingabout a month ago

    This nostalgic recount of a visit to Lancashire captures the blend of change and continuity over time. The detailed observations about familiar landmarks and personal connections provide a touching and vivid picture of the journey.

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.