Interview logo

Ladybug Reborn

Spiritualists and Artists Move The World Series

By Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle AuthorPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 5 min read
7
Photo by George Desipris Pexels Art

Robin Christine Honigsberg is a Writer who indeed moves the world with her expression in fine form, particularly poetry. A woman with something to say who should be proud of her gift to inspire others. Her work caught my eye online and as I read more of it I realized her human experience is something that can people can really relate to. Personal struggles and overcoming them through personal achievement is something to be recognized. Doing it beautifully through poetry is also to be applauded.

I believe that the arts are bound with our personality which is the current of experience and lit by inspiration and how we pour it out to others. The perpetual tiny organism in a vast existence that flies with ease and with a pop of color and most interesting stance that manages to capture our wonder as the ladybug does. This aptly describes Robin Christine and her work. May I introduce you to Honigsberg, Ladybug Reborn...

Ladybug Robin Christine Honigsberg

How long have you been writing poetry?

I've been writing poetry since my early teens and had two poems published in an anthology and one in the community newspaper when I was 13 years old and in Secondary II (Grade 8). I tend to write poetry when I'm upset and the collection of poems I just published started off with a poem, “Do You Remember Me?” for my mother, who was recently diagnosed with dementia. We were estranged but trying to reconcile when she was diagnosed. I express my pain through my poetry.

Do you write other genres and what kind?

I also write various other genres; memoirs, personal narratives, and short stories. In fact, I'm currently in the process of publishing a collection of short stories composed of drama, suspense, thriller, supernatural, and horror.

If you were going to impart encouragement to a young poet what would that be?

I would encourage young poets to keep writing, no matter what. You are your harshest critic and judge. Stop being so hard on yourself. Stop listening to the negativity. Learn to accept the compliments you receive about your poetry, and appreciate the commonalities you write about that will resonate with many. My poetry is my most popular genre of writing because people can relate to the topics of my poems.

You just recently published a book, congratulations! How would you describe this poetry, what are the highlights of it?

I just published a chapbook of poems about trauma, grieving, and loss. As I mentioned, the book started as a poem to my mother who was recently diagnosed with dementia called “Do You Remember Me?” and my emotions spilled out as poetry. The poems are dark, raw, and emotional and expose my vulnerabilities. They talk about the trauma I experienced growing up in an abusive household, my estrangement from my family, friendships, and relationships, and living with a number of mental illnesses. The poems are relatable to those who had similar experiences and serve as a cautionary tale about life.

Do you refer to a poetic muse, many writers do, what would you say is your inspiration?

I don't have a particular muse but I do have a system, developed by Clive Matson, a student of Beat Generation poets such as Allen Ginsburg. I’ll read a couple of poems or short prose, write down any words or phrases that capture my attention, then write an unrelated sentence for each word or phrase. The sentence that jumps out at me is my starting point, and I write whatever comes to mind. The results are often incredible and unexpected. So I guess you could say the writings of others are my inspiration.

Recent statistics show that poetry has doubled in sales over the last few years, do you think it is a growing art form?

I definitely see poetry as a growing art form, albeit a slow-growing one. But I believe poetry has become more popular among readers and will continue to grow as the next generation of poets emerges.

What direction do you see your work going?

I’m currently working on my second volume of poetry and this time hope to publish a full collection (at least fifty poems) as my last volume of poetry was considered a “chapbook” since it had thirty-one poems. I’m also working on publishing a collection of short stories.

I volunteer as an Associate Editor for the online literary journal, WordSwell (wordswelljournal.org).

** My poem “Do You Remember Me?” was accepted on its own merits for its Volume II edition which will launch on May 1st. I’ll be doing a reading of that poem at the launch, which will be live and on Zoom so anyone interested in watching can check my FB page and stories (Ladybug Reborn) for the link closer to May 1st as it’s not yet available.

Christine's work is also on Medium: https://medium.com/@robinhonigsberg

Thank you so much Ladybug Robin Christine! I loved learning more about you and your work and I am sure your readers will too. I especially liked your candid approach to what will be discovered in your work, excellent.

Click on the Title to Order:

Dysfunctional Me Collection of Poems by Robin Christine Honigsberg Amazon Worldwide 5 Star

Poetry Collection Chapbook

Copyright © 2023 Lisa A Lachapelle. All rights reserved.

This interview is part of my series Spiritualists and Artists Move The World. Links to other Interviews in this series. Click on the Title Links:

Sister Mariam Caterina

Canela Michelle Meyers

Mervin and 108 Living Gurus

Ray Robinson, DFA, Artist

Lynda Buckland, Reiki Master

Tomas Robertson, Artist

Kate Silvia, Psychic & Spiritually Gifted

Joan Spalding, Musician

A Mystic's Drift In Societal Whoas, of Topic Interest

Spiritual Steps Cultural Steps of Genealogy Embedded Throughout World Charms

Lisa Lachapelle’s links: Vocal Stories & Website

Leave a tip or a pledge if you wish to and I in turn will wish for you.

If you would like to be updated on all my writing just sign in to Vocal for free and click Subscribe on my work. Or brighten my day with an email [email protected]

Authors
7

About the Creator

Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Author

Published Poet and Author. Making rainy days feel like Sundays with words.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Nice Article ❤️😉

  • She is so inspirational! Loved this interview!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fantastic!!! Loving it💕💖😊k

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.