Humans logo

Careful Who Puts the Cuffs on You This Season

Keep the Kays Handy

By Judey Kalchik Published 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - October 2023
30
https://pixabay.com/users/klaushausmann-1332067/?utm_source=link-attribution&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=image&utm_content=1694608

Suddenly Cuffing Season is being discussed everywhere:

Facebook has over a dozen Cuffing groups, YouTube has dozens of videos on the subject, including a video of the 2014 ‘Cuffin’ Season’ song by Fabolos.

Online magazine and news shows explain what it is and how to navigate it. In posts that range from USA Today in 2017:

To Women's Health:

Cuffing Season is in the news.

What Exactly IS Cuffing Season?

The simplest explanation I found is by MindBodyGreen.com:

“Cuffing” is a term based on the idea of getting “handcuffed” or tied down to one partner. It refers to when people get into relationships during the colder months of the year, even though they ordinarily wouldn’t be interested in a commitment.

The New York Times pinned down the dates of the seasons. It is generally recognized to begin in October and last into February. Matching up/linking up/hooking up/getting cuffed to someone can get you through the ‘couples’ events of the colder months, eight through the gift-giving season holidays, and allow a grand finish on or around Valentine’s Day.

The urge to find someone, anyone, to cuddle, nest, and all the rest can lead folks to decide that waiting for the right one to come along isn’t necessary, as long as the ‘right-now’ one is near.

I am not naming names (cough!~Caroline~cough!), but I once worked with someone that KNEW she was going to break up with her boyfriend, KNEW that it was going nowhere, BUT! decided to stick it out through the end of the year. Now- why she did that has everything to do with what is now called Cuffing Season: she didn't want to be alone during the holidays and he had told her he was getting the leather boots she liked for Christmas. (Note: This is a true story, happened over 20 years ago, and Caroline has a mature and loving relationship now.)

Some scientists think it may have something to do with falling serotonin levels during the dark and cold months.

People may ‘settle’ for a less-than great fit for a temporary partner during Cuffing Season. Online searches for ‘sex’ relationships’ and ‘dating sites’ increase. Relationship statuses are updated more often during Cuffing Season. The ‘winter blues’ and SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder) may encourage impulsive behavior to bring some pleasure and reduce stress.

There IS Good News!

That bastion of accuracy, the Urban Dictionary, brings hope to the Cuffing Season behaviors. Their definition states:

Usually the colder months; i.e. fall or winter, when new relationships start and old relationships turn into engagements.

That's right! Although temporary relationships are prone to form in these cold months, Cuffing Season is also a time when couples make the decision to be permanent, too.

This sounded weirdly familiar.

Then, I realized that I’ve known about Cuffing Season for a long time, except I called it: Seasonal Hiring.

See how to apply lessons from personal 'cuffing season' to 'seasonal employment here:

Summary of this article and a sneak peek at the next.

  1. Cuffing Season has undeniable similarities to Seasonal Hiring.
  2. Be aware if your job (or any relationship) is intended to be short-lived.
  3. Make temporary personal and business relationships mutually beneficial, and better prepare you for your next personal or business step along your journey.
  4. There are steps you can follow to increase the chances you will remain employed after seasonal hiring season.
  5. Uncuffing from a seasonal position has specific Do’s and Don’ts.

~!~!~!~!~!~!~!

Is Cuffing Season new to you? Leave a comment and let me know.

Freebie for you: Get notified when my posts go live, including the second half of this article. It's free to subscribe!

Interested in the season that just finished? It was Fielding Season, and here's the details about it! (thanks for the question, Jazzy!)

sciencepop culturemarriagelovehumanityfriendshipdivorcedatingadvice
30

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Zondra Dos Anjos6 months ago

    Great Story Judey

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    I’ve never heard of this phrase but I found all of this fascinating !

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Humans...Bah humbug. What have we evolved into, using people for our gratification. Still, there are those who find that lifestyle acceptable. To each his own and life goes on, kudos on TS.

  • Sounds familiar. And yes, it was right after Thanksgiving that my wife & I got engaged, almost 38 years ago. Interesting article. Thanks for sharing it with us, Judey.

  • Test6 months ago

    Well, that was eye opening. Think I heard it from one of the kids but didn't really take much notice. Can't really believe its a thing!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    I've never heard this phrase before! Going to hear it everywhere now aren't I.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    Haha!! I love how you liked cuffing season to seasonal employment!! Made me laugh at how similar they both are! I knew about the concept of cuffing season but didn't realize it was a real thing/ had a name! Great article Judey!!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Terrific article!!! 💕❤️❤️

  • Mark Gagnon6 months ago

    First time I've ever heard the phrase. Guess I've been out of the loop for way too long.

  • StoryholicFinds6 months ago

    Love it! ❤️

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Something that has been around for years finally has a name. I did not know it until now. thanks

  • Lynn Jordan6 months ago

    Cuffing Season hasn't appealed, but as time goes by, it's starting to. Not this season though, I'm improving my relationship with myself, but next year, if I find someone my dogs won't bite I might keep 'em around for a minute :)

  • Excellent Read 📖 😉all the way through-👍CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR TOP STORY🥳🎉✌️

  • Jazzy 6 months ago

    Lol this was so clever and so funny. Cuffing season, why’s the season before ????

  • Lol, I've never even heard of cuffinf season before! So I learned something new today.

  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    It sure does make sense! Thank you for the info. Hope to never need it for me😉❤️

  • I've heard of cuffing season before. I'm glad you wrote an article that explains it better, since I have only heard of it mentioned in a negative light.

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    When I first heard the term from a few years ago, I really did not believe it, but it makes sense. And it is getting cold in here... ;)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.