Humans logo

A Fake Personality Is Not Enough To Win Me Over.

I Prefer Real People.

By Carol TownendPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
2
A Fake Personality Is Not Enough To Win Me Over.
Photo by HLS 44 on Unsplash

I love making friends, and I love being in love.

What I don't love is fake people.

Many years back before I got married, I dated a man who was charming, funny and always smiling.

I love both men and women who have humor and smile a lot, but I also like people who can feel comfortable enough with me to show when they are unhappy or are not in a humorous mood.

There were times when this man would attempt humor when he did not find anything funny about what he said, and I could tell because he would let out a fake laugh.

It really isn't funny!

I dated another man who simply put on the charm with hearts, flowers and chocolate from the moment he asked me to be his girlfriend.

We had only been dating a few minutes before he asked me to be his girlfriend!

He made up a very sparkling story about being a member of some famous band, then tried convincing me he was a millionaire. He also told me he had a boat and a very big house, and that he worked in real estate.

It turned out to be untrue.

He worked as a shop assistant in a motor shop, and he lived in a flat. He had never been in a band, and I found out after he realized I wasn't accepting his story to be true. I was insistent on him being real, and he finally told me the truth after I told him that I wanted to be his friend and not his girlfriend.

So, why did he lie to me?

Well, it turned out that he had been talking to some of my friends who told him that I was into bands and music in a big way.

He somehow decided that because I enjoyed seeing bands, I would only date a band member and that I would only date him if he was rich!

And the same thing happened when I dated a female! It happens amongst friends too.

I do go see live bands and I have met many famous people.

However, it doesn't mean that I would want to date or be friends with someone because they are famous!

My husband is Dame Penelope Keith's nephew, but I married him for him; not because his aunt is famous!

I do love music, and I enjoy meeting bands and singers who I share music interests with. However, I also have many friends in the world of music who I also like because of who they are and not just what they do.

A Big Turn-Off!

I am a very real, honest, truthful person. I don't fake my personality just to be liked.

I enjoy being myself

However, a fake personality will not just turn me off as a girlfriend (if I was ever single), but it will turn me off as a friend too.

I don't need you to try and prove that you are the next Robbie Williams

I do love Robbie though, I am a huge fan!

My husband looked after Robbie in rehab, and I did get to talk to him for a short while. However, that certainly does not mean that you have to impersonate him to be my friend or date whether on social media or in real life!

The best way to make friends with me, or even date me, (if you ever get the chance but you'll have a fight on your hands!) is to be your authentic self!

Remember, being your authentic self is an act of self-care and love. You'll find that you will be happier, make genuine friends and find genuine girlfriends and boyfriends who care about you for you.

Just be you, because nobody else can be you.

humanitylovehumorfriendshipdatingadvice
2

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    I can relate, this story remind me of my exhusband but you are a lot smarter than I was. I thought everyone was honest and kind. That’s how naive I was back then. I am glad you can tell when someone is being fake with you. That’s a healthy boundary 🥰

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    “Remember, being your authentic self is an act of self-care and love.” 👏🏼

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.