Critique logo

Challenging Yourself to Overcome Writer's Block

The Critique Challenge

By Atomic HistorianPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
Challenging Yourself to Overcome Writer's Block
Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

A critique challenge? Just 50 words? Not sure about this. Seems interesting but hard. Fifty one words! Gotta cut something. That was fun. Another day. Too many positive ones. Should probably balance it with something else. Let me take it to the extreme, and see how many I can write?

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Is that exactly 50 words? Yes, yes it is.

Why would someone submit so many submissions to a challenge? Well, it started as me asking for help from a Mariam Naeem with a story. But then I started asking her about her writing. I suggested she enter the Critique challenge, because she reads way more books than I do. Also, she is a great writer, and the world needs her insights on many things.

But then this morning, I was thinking about how we writers have difficulty writing sometimes. And one of the suggestions I like to give to people when they ask how to break writer’s block is to just write. Literally write nonsense. Pick a random thing to write about. So, that’s what I started to do this afternoon. I wanted to see how many critiques I could write in a short amount of time. But I also wanted to see how quickly I could change subjects, and see how many different subjects I could cover. And that’s how I ended up with 12 official entries into the Critique challenge (13 if you count this one).

What was the point of this? Well, 600 words is the minimum needed to submit an article in most communities on Vocal. Thus, 12 critiques at 50 words each is enough to make one article. How long did this take? I can’t quite answer that, as some of these were written before this afternoon. But starting with the Stargate critique, and ending with this one, I started writing at about 4:10ish pm. It is now 6:05pm as I’m wrapping this up. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t always have days where I can write what is now approximately 613 words in about two hours. But I just want to encourage those authors out there with the Block. Just start writing, and see what happens.

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More tips on how to better use Vocal:

How To Win A Vocal Challenge

Vocal By the Numbers

All of my Critique Challenge entries:

The Giving Tree

Vocal

Extremely Bad

The Managerial Revolution

X-Men: The Animated Series

Calvin and Hobbs

The Bible

Stargate: The Movie

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?

No Shelter

Andy Warhol's Campbell Soup Can

National Geographic

ThemeTelevisionStructureSettingScreenplayRevisionProofreadingPoetryPlot DevelopmentPlayPacingOutlineNovelNonfictionMusicMovieManuscriptFictionFeedback RequestedEssayDraftDialogueCharacter DevelopmentArt

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Scott Christenson10 months ago

    Wrote a satire about a writer going to a writers block convention, and getting so upset about it, he starts writing. I think I will rewrite this for vocal from a different angle... https://blog.reedsy.com/short-story/1l3iqu/

  • Scott Christenson10 months ago

    I like the idea of writing nonsense to just keep going... that's how I really got started. And then I heard a neil gaiman interview today where he basically says the exact same thing... if you have a page of nonsense you have something, if you have an empty page you have nothing.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Yes, challenging oneself is the best way to kill writer's block. That's why I created my poetry forms and the flashku, among other things. I'm going to finish reading your entries now. :-)

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    I like that you gave yourself the Challenge Challenge and met it!

  • More sage counsel.

Atomic HistorianWritten by Atomic Historian

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.