Critique logo

Andy Warhol's Campbell Soup Can

A Critique

By Atomic HistorianPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read

Perhaps I am ignorant of how modern art works. Or just perhaps not interpreting the work of Andy Warhol correctly. But I have never understood why his painting of soup cans was so significant. And I am sure the person that created the designs for Campbells was no more impressed.

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

ThemeTelevisionStructureSettingScreenplayRevisionProofreadingPoetryPlot DevelopmentPlayPacingOutlineNovelNonfictionMusicMovieManuscriptFictionFeedback RequestedEssayDraftDialogueCharacter DevelopmentArt

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Leslie Writes5 months ago

    lol - yeah Andy really got away with something here

  • I know nothing about nothing here. I don't even know what I don't know. Lol. Well written review!

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    That makes two of us. I have never really understood why people love his work so much. Well, I guess, knowing the right folks may help. LOL!

  • I understand that it's commentary, but once the comment's been made, do I really want to pay millions of dollars just to be able to say that I got it (which I'm thinking, by definition, means that I didn't but rather serve as the butt of the joke).

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    I still like his work, but I understand that it has been commodified and commercialized to such a point that it is hard to see how radical it was to point such a mundane product. Thank you for this take.

Atomic HistorianWritten by Atomic Historian

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.