Confessions logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Oh Anxiety...what have I done to You...!?

My childhood story... untold....

By Albin TawoPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Oh Anxiety...what have I done to You...!?
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I have never felt so downcast having to see my self go through the ridicule of a shaky mouth on an interview of a life time. Hell "No" heaven must have failed me, speaking to myself...I said. I ought to get this job; oh I was so prepared. I read, read and read repeatedly preparing to give the Best. Indeed, I failed myself. What a shame I thought to myself.

Little did I know that to be " Forewarned is to be Forearmed.....and "to be in form is forethought"... Anxiety has killed me... oh! I read....why me!??

Haven found myself unexpectedly tongue-tied or feeling uncomfortable in the midst of my interviewers …I lost grip of myself...oh! why me!? I could not explain.

With the disappointment of the day, I came out all worn-out on myself...I never could believe such an embarrassment on the first day of my interview. God help me, I said to myself downcast.

So, that very getting home, I talked out my experience with a close friend of mine...more like a senior mentor that just moved into the neighborhood …the then Ikaptang Layout, Boki Lane and that was all for it.

Why or why didn't I talk this out with Bro. Henry before my interview. I kept saying to myself ….Bro. Henry was a senior graduate of psychology from the University of Calabar, Cross River State, Nigeria. That was my Saving Grace.

After, talking with Bro. Henry for a long time that evening, He told me he noticed I had issues with pinning my eyes eyeball t eyeball with conversation and that was my first flaw or sign of Shyness He said terming it "Social Anxiety" .

Social Anxiety!? I said in shock.....and Bro. Henry continued....Yes, s" Social Anxiety" immediately, I became enmeshed …going further he asked do I normally "sweat in my palms when I talk to adults or people I respect socially"!? O h yes, I loudly said.

Confused the more, I couldn't ask for less....I'm I sick or something I said!? Not at all, he responded....You are not just used to a certain lifestyle.

Immediately, he asked me...how did you grow up and that was it!....I blew the cat from cover...I had a very challenging childhood I said....amazed with all that was coming into my ears. Out of curiosity I asked again, "how does my childhood affect my ability to socialize as a person or lead to social anxiety!?… OG Henry laughed as he was fondly called in the yard.

Oh God! what is wrong with me I kept thinking inside....from shaky -mouth to eye contact during conversation to childhood experience? This most be "the story of my Life: A must hear...I kept listening.

How exactly does my childhood experience affect my confidence in social gatherings? was definitely my next...

Bro, Henry as OG had it all for the day...and I needed every piece of it to get done with this thing called "Anxiety" and get ready before my next interview...but was it so fast to be resolved?... I wish, all I thought at the moment.

Yes, it can he said but it needs a bit of time and practice to get it right once and for all. That was all I wanted....I went ahead all hills high...Bro. Henry, it's I and You today I said....I don't feel like going home anymore I exclaimed..Cheering me up he said....Bro. Henry, you won't understand it's like I never knew myself all this while...22years into my life? Oh I was lost....Why have I never heard it!? I kept saying inside ….I lost a golden opportunity today of an Oil ring company job worth a life time with a car to go for it was unbelievable!

…stay tuned and find out...what Bro Henry said about Childhood....

By Albin Tawo

WorkplaceTeenage yearsTabooSecretsSchoolHumanityFriendshipFamilyEmbarrassmentDatingChildhoodBad habits

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ATWritten by Albin Tawo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.