Confessions logo

"Happy for Everyone Else Meter"

Confessions of a girl who just doesn't feel like she fits in this world

By Rilee AreyPublished 9 days ago Updated a day ago 5 min read

I went to the last of the four "friends" weddings that were on my books this year, and in lieu of supporting everyone else's love, I think I feel more lost within myself than ever. I cop the saying about how my "Happy for Everyone else meeter, is running low". In reality, it's hard to see everyone else have a person to share a dance floor with when I am alone. I know how selfish that sounds, but trust me, I hate myself enough for the both of us regarding this, nonetheless, it remains. It is kind of funny, in a cosmic comedic kind of way, how my favorite thing in this world is weddings as a photographer and videographer, yet I stand here alone selfishly divulging in my own pitty party of feeling like I don't fit anywhere while at this friends wedding.

However when I have a camera in my hand, I do not feel alone, I feel in control, holding purpose. It's like I found a place that fits all of my skills and gives me an excuse to fit somewhere I never have.

People who know me, tell me their favorite thing about me is how much of myself I am, but what they don't know, is how badly I wish I could escape that part of me. I wish at this wedding I could hide the uncomfortable stature I give off from all the small talk that never leads anywhere and the few conversations I can conjure up about that current whereabouts and travels. I wish I could feel pretty in a room full of these knock-out pencil-perfect girls who can dance with the alcohol infused in their veins. I wish I could be someone else. I wish I could be comfortable and present, in a room that I was invited to, but without my camera, I feel lost, without purpose, wasted space. I feel like someone I am, sadly, and yet everything I am not.

I am damn good at my job and I love it, I am a great friend, and care deeply and try so hard to be kind, even when faced with reaction triggers. I love the life I am building, and I love the friends that I have, but why does the absence of what is missing feel bigger than the latter? Why cant I be the girl who is capturing the moments in the moment, be a part of the moment too, just without the hardware?

I think a piece of me has always held onto the absence of what is in front of me, and unfortunately, that missing piece always seems to be a partner to some degree. I have been in relationships, I have been loved, I have been loved turned to hate, I have fought and cried and lied and tried. I have seen it, done it, not wanted it! But when I was alone at this wedding, feeling like I had already awkwardly overmaxed my conversations with the four people I knew, the absence of not having that person seemed unbearable.

The absence actually always feels like that, whether that puzzle piece is missing or trying to be pressed into a spot it didn't easily place into. I Dream of a relationship that makes sense, that fits into my world, and my life, getting along with my family but acknowledging the difference between me and them. I want to come home for once and feel proud like I have a person in my life worth planning a future with then maybe just maybe my brother and his wife and their silly doodle with their new house and picture-perfect life won't feel like a knife slicing into what I have never found.

I don't know how to explain how grateful I feel for the life I do have and the people in my life finding and having that person for them. Yet, as of late, I feel the absence of not having someone to be mentally and physically safe with more than needing to fill the empty space with. It's like when I plan to buy a house, it's daunting how empty it will feel without a future full of love to fill it with. It feels like I have to plan for a future with the possibility of no one loving me the way I see others being chosen and loved. Once again I know, pathetic, but my feelings are valid, and as a romantic this future feels like a purgatory I have never written myself to be the character in.

I don't want to feel this way! I find myself watching reality TV love trope shows to remind me of what dating actually feels like. I tell myself of the potential yeast infections and how sex most of the time sounds better than it is. I redownload and redelete the dating apps within a single sitting then scroll on social media to feel less alone. I look at my parent's marriage and think about how I don't really want to give up my agency and or decision-making and or all the complications there are to be in a relationship with me and within my family. I really am trying to just let the world give me a person at the right time, and I can tell you even for me it doesn't feel like that time, yet the emptiness remains. The delusion of a significant meet-cute moment in my mind makes me so impatient for the passing of time and the clock ticking while surrounded by everyone else's alarm.

I don't want to feel this way, I do not want to envy others' happiness, it's not healthy, it's not who I am. I had "to be happy on my own" on my bingo card this year, and I would say most of the time I am, but man, how I just wish I didn't have to always be strong alone, to have a person who will hold some of my mind with, if not to just soften the blow by someone to come home to. I don't know, maybe that card wasn't put in my deck, or maybe everyone else got all the fairy dust that was left. Maybe I am filming the highlight reel of the rarity of love and life together, not the truth that is hard to find someone to grow old with.

Dating

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

I am a professional life romantizer, with a heart that feels everything deeply. I am a moment collector through words and the ways around us.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred9 days ago

    Thank you for sharing this, it is brave to do so. I don't know if you are on Facebook, but if you are join us in the Vocal Social Society, where you can share your work, and meet other creators as well

Rilee AreyWritten by Rilee Arey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.