Writers logo

And the winner is...

Munson's Microfiction - My Tears Need A Minute (unofficial challenge) Winners' Circle

By Christy MunsonPublished 25 days ago β€’ Updated 24 days ago β€’ 4 min read
And the winner is...
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

That Was Fun! ❣️

We did it. We created something magnificent together. With this announcement of the Winners' Circle, Munson's Microfiction - My Tears Need a Minute draws to an end.

Reading these entries was a delight. The microfictions were evocative, entertaining, stirring, heart-wrenching, and or mind bending. I am awed by your talent. Thank you for honoring me with your contributions.

Judging turned out to be a nightmare -- worthy of an entry in Vocal's 3 AM Challenge. You did not make it easy and I'm grateful for that, despite the sleepless nights. I would award every entry a top placement if I thought it fair, but awarding every single entry defeats the purpose of a challenge.

Thanks to everyone who encouraged this endeavor through inspiration, likes, comments, and most especially participation. 🫢🏻

I also offer one more shoutout to Lacy Loar-Gruenler, without whom there'd be no story behind this wonderful prompt. I've awarded Lacy a Tip for the story that started this all, and I highly encourage everyone to read, "The Girl Who Loved Them Both."

The Judging ❣️

First and foremost, I considered integrity. I verified, to the best of my ability, that none of the entries plagiarizes any other writer, and that AI was not used to generate any of the microfictions. Satisfied, I judged the entries based on a grading system. I used the following criteria:

  • Emotion (did the piece evoke an emotional response - anger, empathy, laughter, tears, etc.) - up to 10 points
  • Hook (did the piece gain and hold my attention) - up to 10 points
  • Memorable (how long did the microfiction linger in my mind) - up to 10 points
  • Originality (does the author write this type of story often, have I read this story or ones like it before, did the author leverage word choice and develop imaginative characters, plot, theme, etc.) - up to 10 points
  • Prompt utilization (did the two mandatory lines flow naturally, fit the tone of the piece, work as intended in the story) - up to 10 points
  • Writing quality (did the author work within the bounds of literary fundamentals, applying editing and attention to detail) - up to 10 points

In the event of a tie, the author's use of the prompt would break the tie.

The Entries ❣️

Please read them all. Not for me. Not for the authors. But for yourself. Give the reader in you that gift.

Here are all of the entries, in the order the microfictions were received:

πŸ‘‹πŸ» Although my own stories are ineligible, I hope you'll honor me with a read if you haven't already - "Jax" [Vocal Top Story] and "The Painted Nail"

πŸ‘‹πŸ» Also worthy of a read, but unfortunately ineligible due to the length of the short story, Matthew Fromm - "Vale Perficientur" [Vocal Top Story]. If this story had been eligible, it would have placed. I've awarded a Tip, although it cannot earn an official prize or placement.

_______________

WINNERS CIRCLE ❣️

Drum roll please!

It is my honor to present the winning entries in Munson's Microfiction - My Tears Need a Minute unofficial challenge:

πŸ… Runners-Up

It's a tie -- even after applying the prompt utilization criteria as a tie breaker.

Earning one of two Runner's-up and a $5 prize: Gerard DiLeo - "Plainer in a Plane Lane"

To quote Vocal readers*:

Gerard crafts an allegory for the ages. It is at once descriptive, dimensional, incredible, insanely impressive, jaw-dropping, and out-of-the-box.

Earning one of two Runner's-up and a $5 prize: Kelli Sheckler-Amsden - "Sunday Kind Of Love"

To quote Vocal readers*:

Kelli crafts a beautifully woven, brilliant, compelling, emotional, evocative, heart-wrenching, intense, poignant, spectacular, stellar, and tragic story.

____________

πŸ₯‰ Third Place

In 3rd Place, recipient of the $10 prize: Sonia Heidi Unruh - "Shooting Guernica"

To quote Vocal readers*:

Sonia weaves a beautiful, dexterous, excellent, incredible, haunting, strange, suitably surreal, and all around wonderful work.

____________

πŸ₯ˆ Second Place

In 2nd Place, recipient of the $20 prize: D.K. Shepard - "The Flamingo Lounge"

To quote Vocal readers*:

D.K.'s story is amazing, beautiful, believable, brilliant, compelling, delicious, emotional, fantastic, haunting, heart-tugging, hopeful, poignant, and wisely wistful. In short, the fiction is pitch perfect.

____________

πŸ₯‡First Place

With a remarkable 58 out of 60 possible points, in 1st Place, recipient of the $30 prize: John Cox β€” "The day I saw the light leave your eyes"

To quote Vocal readers*:

John's words are beautiful, emotional, heart-wrenching, moving, phenomenal, poignant, powerful, relatable, and tragic. This microfiction is a "stab-you-through-the-heart story."

Two readers shared, "I have tears in my eyes," and "my heart melted reading this."

I couldn't agree more. Simply mesmerizing, tender work, John. Congratulations!

____________

*Note that readers' comments did NOT factor into judging. I've quoted other readers' comments because their words cover my own impressions perfectly, and also because I love acknowledging others' opinions wherever possible.

Congratulations to all who placed, to all who participated, and to all who've read these indelible entries!

What's Next ❣️

I plan to sponsor another unofficial challenge. Please be on the lookout. In the meantime, keep writing and reading and supporting one another. I can't wait to read what's next.

_______________

Copyright Β© 06/01/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

ShoutoutPromptsInspirationChallengeAchievements

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Top Stories: πŸ₯³

JUN | MAY | MAY | MAY | MAY

APR | APR | MAR | MAR | MAR

FEB | JUN

Unofficial Challenge Winners:

Ask Me in December | Story of Humanity | Strangely Art

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Paul Stewart11 days ago

    Congrats to the winners! I thought I must have missed the announcement lol! So glad to see Mr Cox getting more recognition for his talent. I still need to read his actually and a few others...will rectify that in the nextfew days! Well done on a great challenge, Christy!

  • D.K. Shepard23 days ago

    Thank you for hosting such a wonderful challenge, Christy! It prompted me to write one of my favorite pieces I’ve penned in a while! The lines you provided were big and bold and allowed for the imagination to run wild! Very honored to have received 2nd place! Looking forward to the next throwing of the gauntlet!

  • Wooohooooo congratulations to all the winners and everyone who participated! πŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠ I love that you were transparent with all the criterias you took into account into your judging! Looking forward to your next challenge!

  • John Cox25 days ago

    Thanks for hosting the contest, Christy! I had hoped to place but I am honestly surprised to be have won. As you mentioned at the beginning, everyone put their best foot forward for the challenge. Really excellent selection of stories!

  • Sarah Wilcox25 days ago

    Congratulations to the winners!! I’m working on reading the other entries now but the ones I’ve read so far have been amazing! Thank you again for sponsoring this and I’ll keep an eye out for your next challenge!

  • Babs Iverson25 days ago

    Fantastic!!! Congratulations to the winners!!!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

  • You’ve written such a beautiful article to announce the winners! I wouldn’t have enjoyed judging this one at all… Although I would say John made an easy case for first place! β™₯οΈπŸ’ŽπŸŒŸ

  • Oh, Christy! FABULOUS job!! I am so sorry I dropped the ball to help, but my excruciating job has kept me away and I am still behind. I can't wait to read the one's I haven't, and I am so proud of John and everyone who placed!!! What great writers on Vocal. And what a lovely surprise to receive a tip, especially when I screwed up and meant to help you, but it turns out, you didn't really need it!!! Thank you, thank you!

  • I'm so very grateful! Both for having placed and for having a wonderful roster of new stories to read. Congratulations to everyone.

  • Congratulations all

  • Andrea Corwin 25 days ago

    Congrats to all and thanks to Christy!! πŸ’•

  • angela hepworth25 days ago

    Congratulations everybody!!

  • Anna 25 days ago

    Well done everyone! Great challenge!😊

  • Sweileh 88825 days ago

    Interesting and delicious content. Keep posting more now.

  • Randy Baker25 days ago

    Well done! Congrats to the winners!

Christy MunsonWritten by Christy Munson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.