Fiction logo

Forgotten Forest

Written for the Unofficial Challenge, Munson’s Microfiction: My Tears Need A Minute.

By Sarah WilcoxPublished 22 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Picture captured by author: Sarah Wilcox

Lightning cracks and streaks through the sky. The winds shift as I focus my energy. Rain falls. I feel the water cleansing me, healing. For I am tainted, broken and in need of repair.

The dirt beneath my feet begins to sink and turn into a muddy slop like consistency. My secret is buried below in the middle of a forest only I would dare to trespass in. As I get closer to unearthing the truth I try to think back to where and why this began..

There was a sign hanging on a tree with a chain blocking this path. It read

“Forgotten Forest”

and explained the dangers of entering vaguely;

“DO NOT ENTER

Enchanted.

Still, I cannot recall what beckoned me to enter or why I ignored the warning. The path seemed harmless like any other, a simple dirt trail lined with the tallest trees on both sides. Prepared for anything I brought a backpack with water, snacks, a bag for rocks I might find to claim, a few little jars for herb harvesting, flint and a little baggie of dry kindling to start a fire, and a rope that also helped to secure a shovel to my back.

As I had ventured further down the trail it became clear the path had many forks leading in different directions. Paranoia about the likelihood of getting lost and not being able to find the way back out crept into my mind. Fear was not welcome, but why had night come so fast? Wasn’t it daylight when I arrived? Time became an illusion. Was I wandering for days or only a few hours I still do not know.

Something caught my eye and caused me to stop and realize I had not seen any trace of life here. No smalls animals scurrying, no prints from deer or raccoons and no flight from birds. A shiver passed through me as it sank in that I was utterly alone. Whatever caught my attention must have been a trick of my mind because nothing seemed out of place. As I looked around an overwhelming feeling caused me to start digging.

With a clang my shovel hits the box as thunder echoes around me, bringing my mind back to the present moment. I drop to my knees and use my hands to search the slurry for the edge. Once my fingers grasp the ring that’s bolted on I run my rope through it. Using tree limbs from above me, I create a pulley and hoist the heavy box from its grave. As I drag it underneath the nearby trees canopy of leaves the rain washes any extra mud off, exposing a raw oak and seemingly handmade crate.

It appears to have been lovingly crafted with notches cut for each piece of wood to create the rectangles’ sides. The top has engravings in a language long dead that sparks memories just out of my grasp. Carvings of a vine with the most delicate looking flowers outline the lid. An extra layer of thiner, darker wood had been notched onto the outer part of the vessels bottom and top creating a seal. With tender care I disassemble the pieces that were locked together and remove the top from the box.

My tears need a minute to find the edges of my face. If you’ll please excuse me.

For, I have found myself in this forgotten forest.

Authors Note:

Word count (excluding note): 570

Thank you so much for reading! This is my first challenge entry here on Vocal!! (Also my first piece published with a title instead of the date it was created, 5/29/2023) If you could take a moment to comment what you do or don’t like about this piece I would greatly appreciate it. I believe constructive criticism leads to growth!

+

A huge shoutout and thank you to

for creating and sponsoring this challenge! You helped push me out of my comfort zone and create a story based on a beautiful string of words!

MysteryPsychologicalMicrofictionFantasy

About the Creator

Sarah Wilcox

Mom of two that hasn’t given up her dream of becoming an author. Hoping to become more consistent!!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (18)

  • Esala Gunathilake15 days ago

    Congrats on your top story.

  • ROCK 16 days ago

    New subscriber here! This story won me over; really, really good!

  • Awesome writing, keep it up!

  • danny abaldo17 days ago

    good for u go for it just go for it, take a leap of faith ,and see hat happens

  • danny abaldo18 days ago

    it was to short lol was a writer doing only my music now, it is a great way, like the opening, truth emotions to that sign forgotten forest.

  • Linda Goodman18 days ago

    fantastic, congratulations on your top story!

  • Andrea Corwin 18 days ago

    Congratulations on TS!! 🎉 Afraid of getting lost in the forest but instead she found herself!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • angela hepworth19 days ago

    Great work! Amazing fantastical elements and imagery!

  • Raihana H.19 days ago

    You are talented with words. I could feel the story happening like a movie. I hope I can become as good of a writer like you one day 🙂

  • Chloe Gilholy19 days ago

    I can see why this was a top story, I could feel the words happening with my mind.

  • Alyssa Nicole19 days ago

    This is such a beautiful piece and your writing is wonderful. Great job with this challenge! Congrats on the Top Story! 🎉

  • Margaret Brennan19 days ago

    First: congratulations on your TS achievement. Now:::: THIS is truly incredible. Fantasy with realism for those who wander seeking their inner selves. What a fantastic story. Love it!!

  • Anu Mehjabin19 days ago

    Wonderful piece! Keep going! 🌟 And congrats on your top story🎉

  • Very great message! Lovely descriptions that makes you feel in the story

  • Christy Munson21 days ago

    Thank you so much, Sarah, for participating in my first sponsorship of an unofficial challenge! I'm delighted you've chosen to write an entry!! Out of objectivity, I'll say no more other than that I'm happy to have read your work. And congratulations on pushing yourself out of your comfort zone. I suspect you'll find wonders in store on the other side of familiar.

  • Omgggg, finding ourselves is like the best thing ever! I loved your take on this challenge! Well done!

  • shanmuga priya21 days ago

    Thank you for sharing your writing.

Sarah WilcoxWritten by Sarah Wilcox

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.