Fiction logo

Cursed

For Munson's Microfiction Challenge

By shrey Published 13 days ago 3 min read
7
Cursed
Photo by Peter Herrmann on Unsplash

When you place your hand on the remnants of the past, a thousand hidden secrets come to light. Pain and wounds– they all remind me of the times I was by your side.

The pain is tearing me apart. I'm so alone. Alone in a dark, empty room. The only person who is now by my side is Alone itself. This is the only word that everyone has left behind. The depondency of the deep night has placed its hand in mine. It rises like you; it flows fiercely just like you; it's torrential. Sorrow has embraced me. I hate this place, the room, even outside of the room. I hate myself!

I hate to be here. But I can't ever go back!

I am In a place full of people, but they don't want to talk to me. Isn't it the same thing that happened to you in school?

You might think that I'm alone, dying in an empty room. Sorrow embraces me, taking on your body form.

It was a very beautiful moment when you told me that you liked me!

I also felt the same for you. From the next day on, we started to date. We started to get to know each other. Your innocent questions used to make me smile a lot. I had nothing to prove till you came into my life. It's never been the same with others. But when you were with me, it felt so good.

But my emotionless nature turned it into an Unrequited Love.

I can now understand what you felt. It was a nightmare for you when I said I din't want to continue our relationship. The day after, when we were together and exploring every quiet place in our small village, I said to you that I'm going to engage with Brian. I don't know why we pretend to hate the person we love the most!

The tears……….

They don't want to accept any obstacles. My useless apologies burned your eyes. They were trying to say, “My tears need a minute to find the edge of my face. If you'll please excuse me

I didn't want to stay even a minute there. I knew if I did, then I would listen to my heart. I remember you used to listen to my heartbeat and say our heart is myogenic; it doesn't let the brain control it. Maybe I could overcome my inept confusion.

But your eyes cursed me: “You'll be blinded by crying; remember, you'll be in the same situation as mine….” The bittersweet memories remind me of my lost love.

I wanted to know what I wanted. I didn't have the confidence to say to the world what I wanted. You became vulnerable after that. But the curse embraced me. I like to pick my hair from my scalp. An uncontrollable urge to scratch my face until I feel the warmth of my blood tells me to keep going. When I recall your curly hair, I put my hand on my scalp and my hand becomes red with blood. I want to stop this, but someone whispers in my ear to dig up more blood.

My sorrow clings to your hair like a snake coiled around. I try to find out if there's an obstacle or an edge to my face. Where can I tell them to stop? But the blood also falls down like tears. So I can't find the edge where I can tell them to stop and leave me alone. In which water do I swim?

Sorrow anoints me taking your body form.

My tears need a minute to find the edge of my face. If you'll please excuse me.

------------------------

Author's Notes: Word count: 617

This microfiction is written for Munson's Microfiction Unofficial Challenge.

LovePsychologicalMysteryMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
7

About the Creator

shrey

I like to discuss very deep about all human qualities. And when the question rises "WHY" behind the consequences that we have accepted as a very simple or general phenomena. I love to discover that WHY.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk3 days ago

    You nailed that feeling!!!

  • John Cox10 days ago

    ‘Our heart is myogenic, it doesn’t let the brain control it’ is such a terrifying and true thought. Well done, Shrey!

  • Christy Munson12 days ago

    Thank you so much! Out of objectivity I'll say no more other than I enjoyed reading it! 😊

  • Great work! Fantastic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.