Poets logo

Master's Piece

for Poppy's Prompts #5, May 2024

By Christy MunsonPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024
24
Master's Piece
Photo by Amauri Mejía on Unsplash

_____________

you draw me

into you

erasing parts

you say

don't work

reworking pieces

you say

don't fit

__

you

paint

the me

you would have me be,

limited pigments

and trailing lines

__

you

envelope me

molding me

from your clay

shaping my thoughts

modeling my ideas

even as my dreams

of something different

erode

___

you convince me to

descend with you

into the landscape of your design

and then

color me crazy

___

you call yourself artist

massaging a portrait

that you alone

imagine picture perfect

__

you let your wild winter wind

rage

never once

wondering if ever

I dared

to see myself differently

___

your palette

isn't all you hold

under your thumb

as day after day

you chisel away my finer bits

__

even now you seek to

edit me into

a master's piece

__________

Copyright © 05/09/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

__________

Author's Notes: Written as an entry for Poppy's Prompts #5

Mental Healthperformance poetryFree Verse
24

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Top Stories: 🥳

MAY | MAY | MAY

APR | APR

MAR | MAR | MAR

FEB | JUN

Unofficial Challenge Winners:

Ask Me in December | Story of Humanity | Strangely Art

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Dr. Jason Benskinabout 3 hours ago

    Nice Work. I enjoyed your poem very much. Let me know your thoughts on my work, open to constuctive feedback.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout 18 hours ago

    Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli about 23 hours ago

    Beautiful !

  • D. J. Reddallabout 23 hours ago

    The penultimate stanza is exquisite and excruciating. Very deftly done indeed.

  • Bellea day ago

    Beautifully written! Congrats on TS, Christy!

  • Cathy holmesa day ago

    This is incredible. Congrats on the TS.

  • Wow... Christy this was painfully beautiful... This felt so metaphoric for me!! Beautiful work here!!! Congrats on Top story!!

  • Poppy 5 days ago

    This is incredible!! Breathtakingly incredible. I copied and pasted this: “ you paint the me you would have me be, limited pigments and trailing lines” Because I absolutely adored it and was sure it’d be my favourite stanza but each one that followed was equally as astoundingly well written. This has to be one of the best poems I’ve ever read. You are extremely talented.

  • But the "artist" interprets the world as s/he sees it : )

  • Excellent poem using Poppy's word prompts! Especially liked: 'you let your wild winter wind rage never once wondering if ever I dared to see myself differently'.

  • Kodah11 days ago

    Nicely done!! Incredible entry for the challenge!! 💌

  • "you convince me to descend with you into the landscape of your design and then color me crazy" That stanza was so relatable! Your poem was so poignant and I loved it!

  • Oh how you thought about such amazing ideas!

  • Oh, Christy, I concur with everything John Cox says here. It makes me think how much we have changed in what we will accept from partners. Excellent work!

  • John Cox11 days ago

    Reminiscent of Pygmalion. Except this is as disturbing as Shaw’s play should have been. I feel the emotional theft and erasure in your poem, Christy. Really well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.