Poets logo

when it had ended

For Kayleigh's, The Story of Humanity Micro-Fiction Challenge

By Christy MunsonPublished 29 days ago Updated 26 days ago 1 min read
9
when it had ended
Photo by Tetiana Grypachevska on Unsplash

Winner of Kayleigh Fraser's, The Story of Humanity Unofficial Challenge (MAR 2024)

***************************

When it had ended, you finally awoke.

Had there not been sirens? Had there not been smoke?

When it was over, I saw you stand still.

Called me complicit. Had this been my will?

When you first arrived, I sealed shut the doors.

Your world's not my problem. Not anymore.

*

*

*

********

Copyright © 03/28/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

********

when it had ended was my second entry in Kayleigh Fraser's wonderful The Story of Humanity Micro-Fiction Challenge

Read the winners' announcement here

Read all of the awesome entries here

*

*

*

To read the other entries I wrote for this unofficial challenge, here are the links to In the beginning, Us and Them, I Give You The World, and god's prayer.

Thank you for reading and connecting! If you enjoyed my writing, consider subscribing. If not, find another writer or two on Vocal and subscribe to their writing. There are great writers here!

nature poetryFor Fun
9

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Check out my Welcome! article 👋🏻 for nav assist & Vocal creator recommendations.

Top Stories: 🥳

APR 2024 | APR 2024

MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 |

FEB 2024 |

JUN 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶20 days ago

    Congratulations on first place… well done.

  • JBaz21 days ago

    I missed this one, really happy it was a winner.

  • Joe O’Connor24 days ago

    This feels like God replying to humans when they ask why all the bad things are happening to the planet- almost like a "you did this to yourself". "Had this been my will?" fits with the idea of letting us choose how we live and act.

  • Rachel Deeming26 days ago

    Powerful stuff, Christy.

  • Gabriel Huizenga26 days ago

    Congratulations on first place, Christy!! What a powerful, mysterious, and compellingly woven piece. Cheers! :)

  • I felt that last line break my heart. This is another stunning entry! 🥹👌❤️‍🩹

  • This was extremely powerful and very poignant! You nailed this!

  • John Cox29 days ago

    This seems like the unfortunate results of another story of humanity - Let us make man in our image, after our likeness. And let them have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over the livestock and over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth. It's like letting the fox loose in the hen house. Although the anger and irritation of the speaker suggests another - And the LORD regretted that he had made man on the earth, and it grieved him to his heart. Or maybe it's high time to turn a divine, blind eye to the whole mess we have made. 'Your world's not my problem. Not anymore.' Or maybe I'm just reading way too much into your story. (Which I like a lot, by the way!)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.