Poets logo

In the beginning

For Kayleigh's, The Story of Humanity Micro-Fiction Challenge

By Christy MunsonPublished about a month ago 1 min read
10
In the beginning
Photo by Jingda Chen on Unsplash

It was my birthday. I wanted cake.

I baked it with love and offered you peace. You smiled your acceptance, and we became great friends.

Thoughtfully, you held your chin. It seemed something was missing.

You brought me a candle and a torch.

Who could have predicted the big bang?

********

Copyright © 03/30/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

********

My fifth and final entry in Kayleigh Fraser's wonderful The Story of Humanity Micro-Fiction Challenge

Can you tell how inspiring I found this challenge? Simply, I adored it. Thank you so much, Kayleigh, for making me scratch the itch. And especially for indulging my many entries. Hope reading all the entries was as fun as we all had writing. Welcome home!!!

Free VerseFor Fun
10

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Welcome! offers recs -- my work and others’.

Top Stories: 🥳

MAY '24 | APR '24 | APR '24 |

MAR '24 | MAR '24 | MAR '24 |

FEB '24 | JUN '21

Ask Me in December

Story of Humanity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨about a month ago

    I love how different in tone and feel this is from your other entries… I have really enjoyed your creativity on this challenge prompt 🤍🙏

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    I love this, so clever, and so much packed in to so few words! Gave me a smile, also, I have also just had my birthday so that made it a fitting choice for me to read 😁

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Whoaaaa, that ending blew my mind! You're so brilliant! I know I'll be thinking about this for the next few days!

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    I baked it with love and offered you peace. What a wonderful line of double meaning, and apropos of humanity that we can’t help but blow it up. No matter the word count you explore deeper meaning in your wonderful writing, Christy!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.