Poets logo

The Eye of the Beholder

An Inverse Poem

By Christy MunsonPublished 3 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
50
The Eye of the Beholder
Photo by Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

Hate is inevitable

So don’t tell me that

I am the same as you

Because your skin and mine are different

You hate me for not being you

And I hate that

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder

So, trust me when I say I know you think

That my skin is the wrong skin

And nothing you can tell me will make me accept

My skin is perfect

Because no matter what

Black is second class

And you cannot tell me that

Black is beautiful

Because I see something else

Is Black my cross to bear?

* This poem is an inverse poem. Please now read each line in reverse order, from the last line to the first.

***

Copyright © 02/02/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

social commentary
50

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Check out my Welcome! article 👋🏻 for nav assist & Vocal creator recommendations.

Top Stories: 🥳

APR 2024 | APR 2024

MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 |

FEB 2024 |

JUN 2021

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • Amelia Moore2 months ago

    very clever.... i really enjoyed this and i think it's a strong statement.

  • Well worth reading: https://vocal.media/humans/i-m-still-learning-about-systemic-effects

  • Barb Dukeman2 months ago

    I love the reversal of theme-exactly what they were looking for, I think. From negative to positive your lines convey smoothly.

  • Jay Kantor2 months ago

    Dear Christy - Black or White we're all shades of Grey ~ 'j'

  • olymoolla2 months ago

    Thank you for writing so beautifully

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Wooow, I love it in both ways! Very creative! Congrats on TS!🥳

  • Caroline Jane2 months ago

    Awesome inverse poem. 🥰

  • PK Colleran2 months ago

    Brilliant. A powerful inverse poem.

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    This is just really solid, unshakeable either way.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    This is fantastic. Congrats on the TS

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    Unbelievably well done!

  • Hafiz Riaz Hussain2 months ago

    the great job

  • saanvi2 months ago

    beautiful.

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    That was quite the puzzle you took on in crafting this. And you solved it! Great work!

  • Asad Message2 months ago

    interesting story

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Great! Congrats on TS!

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    Beautifully done. I loved reading this on the reverse. 💕 Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Anthony Terry2 months ago

    Great poetry and meaning!

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    Oh I am gonna use this to help me when i write mine! Brilliant work! This stands out from the crowd.

  • OUTSTANDING!

  • Marilyn Glover2 months ago

    Excellent poem-Congratulations on top story!

  • Test2 months ago

    Superb work! Keep it up—congratulations!

  • Test2 months ago

    Brilliant.

  • Gargie S Anand2 months ago

    Woah! That's an amazing composition.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.