Fiction logo

The day I saw the light leave your eyes

For Munson's Microfiction Challenge

By John CoxPublished 20 days ago Updated 16 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2024
28
I called your name again and again, but you only starred dully back.

The day I saw the light leave your eyes, something snapped within me. Something elemental and numbing. As if my environment flattened to black and white.

I still feel a kind of awe when clouds on the horizon shine like fire and gold. But this world holds little wonder anymore.

I remember our life from before when I hear the song of the lark rising in the sky.

Or if I see a doe and her fawns nibbling in our garden before the sun begins to crest the horizon.

But I'm not the same anymore, as if a part of me was lost in that moment, suddenly realizing I no longer have a soul. How can I find peace or rest in this life without it? How can I ever find it without you?

God knows I continue to love you even when you stare unseeing and unknowing back at me. I try to hold your hand, but it hangs limply in mine till you pull it sullenly away.

The day I saw the light leave your eyes did you stop being my Rose? I called your name again and again, but you only starred dully back. Where did the lamp that had always shone within your gaze go to hide?

Did it flee and take my soul with it to alien and distant lands and leave your uncomprehending body behind?

I remember your jolly laugh on the really bad days, the memory of your grin lighting up my heart as nothing else ever has. But your body stopped laughing and your mouth long ago forgot how to smile.

It did not happen all at once. “Early onset Alzheimer's” the doctor said in a clinical voice, like a sentence worse than death. "Does God hate me?" you whispered in my ear.

While the doctor gave you some tests in the office, a nurse carried a bunch of brochures into the waiting room and sat down to discuss treatment strategies as I gazed numbly back. Finally, I stood up and mumbled, "My tears need a minute to find the edges of my face. If you'll please excuse me."

I drove you home, my face and yours wet from weeping. The following few years were hard. But I wish daily that we could still talk and tenderly touch one another as we did often then, even in the midst of our terrible grief.

But you grew increasingly frustrated and angry at the creature eating away at your life until one day none of you was left behind.

The day I saw the light leave your eyes, I took you softly in my arms and whispered in your ear, "I'm still here, Rose. I'll never leave you."

But in my secret thoughts I begged you to return. I pleaded with God to give you back to me. That night in our bed, I wept till the dawn began to slip beneath the shades in our room and a little wren just outside our window cheerfully welcomed a new day.

But you did not leave me. Not really. Alzheimer's took you from me, like a cruel celestial prank. How does one vanquish such a predator when not even a lifetime of love and devotion can resist it?

On the really bad days I imagine putting you in twenty-four seven care. I know you could not tell the difference anyway. But I would.

For better or worse we each promised at the altar. Did we mean it? We were so young and so naive. But we're no longer young, my love.

And what little naiveite remained was lost the day I saw the light leave your eyes.

PsychologicalLove
28

About the Creator

John Cox

Family man, grandfather, retired soldier and story teller with an edge.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna about 2 hours ago

    Back to say congrats on your well deserved Top Story!!🥳🥳

  • Silver Serpent Booksabout 3 hours ago

    Alzheimer's is horrible. You've done a tremendous job exploring the heartache surrounding it. Beautiful story! Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Dana Crandellabout 4 hours ago

    Heartbreaking, poignant and beautifully written. Very relatable, too.

  • Axatours2about 5 hours ago

    very interesting , thanks https://axatours.com

  • Cathy holmesabout 6 hours ago

    Such a beautiful story love struggling through the most evil of enemies. Congrats on the TS.

  • angela hepworth3 days ago

    Absolutely heartwrenching, John. Phenomenal work.

  • Rachel Deeming4 days ago

    Oh John. You made me cry. Just so, so moving.

  • Shirley Belk8 days ago

    John, this was beyond beautiful....as a nurse, I've seen things worse than death...and you've described it to a tee. Devotion is something that cannot be taught. You have painted that picture. I want to give that husband a big hug!

  • L.C. Schäfer14 days ago

    Heartbreaking, this one ❤💔

  • Anna 17 days ago

    This was painful to read... it got tears in my eyes...

  • Heather Zieffle 17 days ago

    This touched so close to home. My mom had early on-set and her short term memory was pretty much gone before she past. I missed being able to talk to her... really talk to her, but thankfully she still remembered me and my siblings most day. Beautifully written.

  • Mark Gagnon19 days ago

    Talk about a stab-you-through-the-heart story, this was it. I hope it was a story and not a real-life experience. Either way, great writing as always.

  • Well, John, you have me crying, too. We cared for my husband's mom in her last years, and I learned dementia is an insidious robber. The beauty of loyalty sure shines through in your story, though. And Christy is right...the bar is set high!

  • Christy Munson19 days ago

    Thank you for your story, which sets the bar high for the unofficial challenge!

  • Gerard DiLeo19 days ago

    A pre-requiem, so beautiful and powerful. It reminds me of one of my favorite Harry Nilsson songs, "I'll Never Leave You" (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jk1K4WMPW4M): "I'll never leave you alone in the garden where nothing grows..."

  • D.K. Shepard19 days ago

    This made me cry! How beautifully written! Alzheimer’s and dementia run in my family and they are such devastating diseases. You really captured the horrible reality of having a loved one physically present but everything that made them them has departed and irretrievable

  • Bongs19 days ago

    nice story

  • Hannah Moore19 days ago

    This is such a devastating story, and more so because it's such a common one.

  • Cruel celestial prank. That's how I feel about everything that happens in life. It's always unfair. Your story was so tragic and emotional 🥺

  • shrey 20 days ago

    The sense of loss is so intense here. Made me realize how painful it is if Alzheimer's disease affects our loved ones. And yes, it's a literally cruel celestial prank. They stays with us, but their existence is gone. such a heartwarming story. loved your story!

  • Lamar Wiggins20 days ago

    "Where did the lamp that had always shone within your gaze go to hide?" That was one of my favorite lines. And your placement of the mandatory prompt was a chef's kiss. Excellent work, my friend!

  • Andrea Corwin 20 days ago

    What is Munson’s challenge? Anyway this is a wonderful story and true to life - Alzheimer’s is horrid and you described it here, watching your love disappear.😞

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.