Psyche logo

Top four psychiatric medications with horrible side effects

My experience with them

By Feven GPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Mental Health Matters

Most of you already know the story of me taking psychiatric medications. Now I am back and will share with you the four top psychiatric drugs that have the worse side effects. I have years of experience taking psychiatric drugs and their impact on me. You can take them or not take them. It's up to you. I am not a licensed doctor or psychologist; I am a patient talking from experience.

1. Risperidone - This antipsychotic treats mental/mood disorders (such as schizophrenia and bipolar disorder. Mental clarity and participation in daily life can be improved with this medication. However, it has horrible side effects like weight gain, aggressive behaviour, more anxiety, difficulty speaking etc. My personal experience with this medication is that I was prescribed this in 2017. The doctor wanted to put me on this, and I refused it because I had heard such bad things about it. I know this because my cousin took it, which made her symptoms worse; what happened to her might not have occurred to me, but accepting this medication wouldn't have been a good idea. I am so glad I never took it.

2. Prozac - It treats disorders such as major depression (MDD), obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD), panic disorder, and bulimia nervosa. Side effects include intense weight gain, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, dry mouth, sweating, hot flashes, and changes in weight or appetite. I can say that I was prescribed this medication in 2019, and yes, I took this medication. It was to treat OCD. I didn't expect super terrible side effects, but I was wrong. This is the medication that made me gain 100 pounds. I, for one, will never retake it. I am glad that it is out of my system.

3. Trintellix (vortioxetine) - It is used to treat depression called Major Depressive Disorder (MDD) or Obsessive Compulsive Disorder ( OCD ) Side effects include dry mouth, weight changes, nausea, and abnormal dreams. I was prescribed this medication in 2018 to treat my OCD, and I took it and noticed nasty side effects. My OCD got worse with taking this medication. My doctor prescribed me this medication, so I don't gain weight, it has fewer side effects, but it didn't do anything to stop my OCD symptoms. It made my symptoms worse.

4. Latuda - It is used to treat certain mental/mood disorders (such as schizophrenia, psychosis and depression associated with bipolar disorder) Latuda is supposed to help you think clearly and decrease hallucinations.The side effects include shaking, weight gain, nausea, mask-like facial expression, inability to keep still, and agitation. I can tell you that taking this medication did help with my psychosis. However, the side effects were terrible. I took this medication throughout 2019 with Prozac. I noticed side effects after taking latuda, like my weight would increase every day, my legs would shake and I couldn't stay still. It was hard to stay still and sleep. I am glad stopped this medication right away. Ever since stopping it, the side effects have stopped. It helped my psychosis symptoms, but it wasn't worth taking it in the end.

So there you have four psychiatric medications that cause horrible side effects. While trying out these medications, I had to go into them with an open mind. I had no choice but to try out medicine during those years. I was in the wrong place, and these medications were supposed to help. I had to learn that with any drug, there are side effects, but at the same time, you must know your body and what is right for you. Ultimately I am glad I listened to my body and noticed what was wrong. Thank you for reading this far. If any of you have experience taking psychiatric medications, let me know in the comments.

adviceanxietybipolarcopingdepressiondisordermedicinerecoveryschizophreniastigmasupport
2

About the Creator

Feven G

Hi, my name is Feven, and I am an Eritrean Canadian living in Toronto, Ontario. I am a creative individual who enjoys writing and creating content. If you want to know more about my experiences, I would be happy to share them with you. ☺️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Valentina Savage2 years ago

    This is absolutely truth! I invite you to read my stories. I have one about schisophrenia. thank you so much

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.