Psyche logo

The Red Thread

The hold of grief and depression

By Laura LannPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
1
The Red Thread
Photo by amirali mirhashemian on Unsplash

I follow a red string down my throat, hands pulling to tug it free. I follow it down to see where it goes. I need to know its hold on me. I fold over myself and vomit from the sting as I yank on that red thread. It's woven into my being, and I think to continue would unspool me.

I'm sick and shaking, yet reach further in. I need to know at what point this does end. Can I untie it from where it has grown. Will I just loose a leg, an arm? Or is it my heart, my liver? What sinister spot has it slipped into a knot and weaved in and out. What would I be unraveling? And I am not finding the answer as my hands reach down and I choke and gag.

I relent, grab a glass of water, toss it down. The red stays tight between my index and thumb, least it disappear again. This thread, it burns like a heated blade. It summons grief and sorrow. It eats at my mind and poisons every good day.

Again, I jerk and tug, but to not avail. At last, fevering and mad, I seize a pair of scissors and cut it as far down as I can. With more water, I wash down the end. If I cannot see it, maybe its effects will go away. Maybe it will dissolve into nothing.

But in the morning when I wake, its hanging from the corner of my mouth. It has grown again, somehow. Sobbing, I seize and sit on the carpeted floor. It hurts more today when I pull, but slowly I pry away at it. Each tug of progress summons forth a wave of memories and pain. Pain so vivid and colorful. I must know where it ends.

So I unravel myself that day, bit by bit. It is agonizing and pitiful. My heart is lost in the process, my lungs, my feet. I need to know where it stops. I need to know where it ends. Eventually, I am aware that it goes on and on. The red string is so long that it might never end. I am tangled in the floor. A heap of red and tears. My eyes are wet, seeping tears with sorrow and fear. I am drowning and disappearing. The more I pull, the more I dissolve into this pile of grief.

Where does it end? Where does it end? I must know. It must end. There must be something of me left that is mine and untainted. Alas, with three more yanks, I am gone. Nothing is left but the thread.

**********************************************************************

I think some stories are best told quickly. Read over like a poem, but with the structure of a story. Greif strikes us and has a long hold, but the spurts where it overtakes us are sudden and come on quickly. So this story is short and bitter. Depression spells feel to me a lot like this, like losing a bit of myself in pain and trying desperately to reach the end of it. Fittingly, this imagery came to me while I was hand stitching the finishing touches on the waistband of a skirt I have been making. It is always interesting to me how my hobbies and daily tasks become the metaphors for how I am feeling. I tend to use them as a lens to process my emotions because it is much easier that bluntly admitting how I feel. Originally, I did have a more direct and bleak ending to the short story, but I thought that it might be too dark for community guidelines and also too upsetting or triggering for some readers. Of course, had I gone darker, I would have tossed this into horror.

copingtraumahumanitydepressionanxiety
1

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.