Psyche logo

Lizard

Fear by Lizard

By Sumera SaeedPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
1

Lizards are common inhabitants of many households, especially in warmer climates. While they are generally harmless and even considered beneficial for controlling insect populations, they can cause quite a stir when they unexpectedly appear in your home and especially your bed. This was the case for me one morning when I woke up to find a lizard curled up next to me.

As someone who had always been afraid of lizards, this was not a welcome sight. I immediately jumped out of bed and ran to the other side of the room, leaving the lizard to roam free. My heart was pounding and my hands were shaking, as I tried to gather my thoughts and figure out what to do next.

As I stood there, frozen with fear, I realized that I needed to confront my phobia head-on. I couldn't continue living in fear of these harmless creatures, and I knew that if I didn't do something about it now, I would never be able to sleep soundly in my bed again.

I took a deep breath and walked back over to the bed, slowly and cautiously. The lizard was still there, looking at me with its beady eyes, and I knew that I had to act fast before it disappeared again.

I grabbed a plastic container and gently scooped up the lizard, trying my best to keep my distance. Once it was safely in the container, I carried it outside and released it into the wild, far away from my bedroom.

As I stood there, watching the lizard scurry away, I felt a sense of accomplishment and relief. I faced my fear head-on and come out victorious.

But my experience with the lizard had taught me something else as well. It reminded me of the importance of taking action in the face of fear. So often, we let our fears hold us back and keep us from living our lives to the fullest. But if we can summon the courage to confront our fears, we can overcome them and emerge stronger than ever before.

This is especially true when it comes to phobias, which can be particularly challenging to overcome. But with the right mindset and approach, it is possible to conquer even the most deeply ingrained fears.

The first step is to acknowledge your fear and accept that it is a part of you. There is no shame in being afraid, and it is important to recognize that your fear is valid and real.

Next, it is important to understand your fear and what triggers it. This can involve exploring the root causes of your phobia, as well as identifying specific situations or stimuli that trigger your fear response.

Once you have a better understanding of your fear, you can start to develop strategies for overcoming it. This may involve exposure therapy, where you gradually expose yourself to your fear in a controlled and safe environment until you become desensitized to it.

Other strategies may include cognitive-behavioral therapy, which focuses on changing your thought patterns and behaviors around your fear, or mindfulness meditation, which can help you stay calm and centered in the face of fear.

No matter which approach you choose, the key is to stay committed and consistent in your efforts to overcome your fear. It may take time and effort, but with persistence and determination, you can conquer even the most daunting of phobias.

As for me, my encounter with the lizard was a wake-up call. It reminded me that fear can be a powerful force, but it is not insurmountable. With the right mindset and approach, we can overcome our fears and live our lives to the fullest.

So the next time you find a lizard in your bed, or face any other fear that threatens to hold you back, remember that you have the power to overcome it. Face your fear head-on, and emerge stronger and more resilient than ever before.

panic attacksstigmasocial mediaselfcaremedicinehumanityfamilydepressioncelebritiesadvice
1

About the Creator

Sumera Saeed

I am a professional article writer since 2015. The best topic in my field is Food, Beauty, Business, and health. You can also request on my E-mail address which is given on my site.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.