Psyche logo

Living with an Asshole!

The craziness of living with an asshole.

By Kylie TaylorPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
3
Living with an Asshole!
Photo by Myznik Egor on Unsplash

What is an Asshole?

Funny you should ask this question. An asshole is a muscle of the body that excretes biowaste from our body. It is also a person who is just flat rude, and mean and doesn't care whose feelings he hurts. I am sure we have all met at least one asshole in our lives, some of us even live with one.

Do you Live with an Asshole?

I know I do, but do you? The person I live with changes moods at the snap of a finger. This person is also borderline narcissistic. It's amusing at times to live with an asshole and other times it is flat frustrating. Just know that you are not alone if you feel like you live with an asshole.

A lot of times an asshole can control how they are behaving, the things that they say, and are well aware of what they are doing. If your asshole is unaware then there is a good chance that there is an underlying diagnosis that has not been made yet. A true asshole knows that they are an asshole.

By Taylor on Unsplash

What I Go Through Daily

Every day in my life anymore is a new challenge. You never know what is going to happen, what is going to be said, or the mood or person you are going to get. Some days it's comical, to say the least, and the other days it just makes me want to bury my head in the sand.

Today's challenge was accepting that things just don't always work the way you want them to. Sometimes people don't listen, sometimes people don't conform to your demands and their opinions are different. On days like today, we hear a lot of "you're stupid", we experience a lot of name-calling and negativity. We hear a lot of yelling and blaming for things that are beyond our control. The world's problems today were the fault of everyone in the house.

Yesterday's adventure was more comical. It was an adventure of what did that person do to you. Those are the days when you experience negativity but it's not directed at you. You experience hate speech that isn't directed at you. All you can do on days like those is sit back and giggle because if you point out how ridiculous they sound they simply reply with I don't care.

By Anthony Tran on Unsplash

How it Feels Living with an Asshole

Most days I don't even want to speak out of fear of what I am going to get in return. Other days I just hide because I can tell how the day is going to go just by the look in their eye. On the bad days, it's downright painful and heartbreaking.

Often I have felt like I lost myself and who I was trying to change the asshole. I felt a dread like no other, a fear of being hurt. I blamed myself for the pain and always said "If I had" or "Maybe I should of" and even "I deserved it because I". None of those statements are true, and no one should ever justify the way they are treated or spoken to like that. Many nights I cried myself to sleep because I allowed myself to be torn apart and broken down by someone I loved.

By Mantas Hesthaven on Unsplash

Don't Just Deal with It

Don't just deal with it. Don't excuse it or justify it. Leave it behind, run away from it. You don't have to live with an asshole. You don't have to tolerate the way they treat you or anyone else. Being an asshole is 100 percent abusive. YOU DON'T HAVE TO TAKE IT!!!

If you are living with an asshole, that does not have a medical diagnosis of mental illness, doesn't want to seek help, or change their ways leave. Run don't walk, you are better than that. You deserve better than that. You are worth more than ever being purposely hurt and broken. Don't lose yourself and always remember you are worth more than hurtful words.

traumaselfcarepersonality disorderanxietyadvice
3

About the Creator

Kylie Taylor

I am freelance creative. I don't want to be just a writer, just a photographer, or just a designer. I want to educate and entertain people on a wide variety thing I have knowledge on.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • ⸘jason alan‽4 months ago

    "Don't lose yourself and always remember you are worth more than hurtful words." things to tell my younger self. a relatable and cheeky PSA. i quite enjoyed it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.