Psyche logo

"Father and Daughter: A Heartfelt Goodbye"

And tips on dealing with grief

By Kari RappoldPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
"Father and Daughter: A Heartfelt Goodbye"
Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

Daughter: "Dad, I'm here. It's me, your daughter."

Father: "Oh, sweetheart. It's so good to see you."

Daughter: "I'm so sorry I haven't been able to visit you more often. I didn't realize how much time had passed since the last time we talked."

Father: "It's okay, honey. I know you have a busy life. I'm just glad you're here now."

Daughter: "Dad, I need to tell you something. I'm pregnant. You're going to be a grandfather."

Father: "Oh my goodness, that's wonderful news! Congratulations, sweetheart. I can't wait to meet my grandchild."

Daughter: "I wish you could be here to see the baby, Dad. It's just not fair. Why do you have to go so soon?"

Father: "I know, honey. It's not fair. But that's just how life is sometimes. We don't get to choose when our time is up."

Daughter: "I don't know how I'm going to do this without you, Dad. You've always been my rock, my safe haven. How can I go on without you?"

Father: "You're stronger than you think, honey. You've always been resilient, even in the toughest of times. You'll get through this. I know you will."

Daughter: "But it's not just me, Dad. It's Mom too. She's going to be lost without you. She doesn't know how to live without you."

Father: "Your mother is stronger than she appears, honey. And she's not alone. You and your siblings will be there for her. And I'll always be watching over her, even if I'm not physically here."

Daughter: "Dad, I don't want you to go. I'm not ready to say goodbye."

Father: "I know, honey. But it's time for me to go. I've lived a good life, and I'm ready to move on. But I'll always be with you in spirit. And I'll always love you."

Daughter: "I love you too, Dad. You've been the best father a girl could ask for."

Father: "And you've been the best daughter a father could ask for. Promise me you'll take care of yourself and the baby. You have so much love to give, and I want you to share it with the world."

Daughter: "I promise, Dad. I'll do my best to make you proud. I'll love this baby with all my heart, just like you've loved me."

Father: "I know you will, honey. And I'll be watching over you every step of the way."

Daughter: "I don't know how to say goodbye, Dad. It hurts too much."

Father: "You don't have to say goodbye, honey. We'll see each other again someday. But for now, just know that I love you, and I'll always be proud of you."

Daughter: "I love you too, Dad. Rest in peace."

Father: "I will, sweetheart. I will."

By Ian Taylor on Unsplash

Dealing with the loss of a loved one can be one of the most difficult experiences we can face. Here are some pieces of advice on how to cope with the grieving process:

  1. Allow yourself to feel your emotions: It's important to acknowledge and feel the range of emotions that come with grief, including sadness, anger, guilt, and even relief. Don't try to suppress or ignore your emotions, as they are a natural and necessary part of the healing process.
  2. Take care of yourself: Grieving can take a toll on your physical and emotional well-being. It's important to eat well, exercise, and get enough rest. Taking care of yourself can help you cope with the grief and give you the strength to move forward.
  3. Seek support: Don't go through the grieving process alone. Reach out to family, friends, or a support group. Surrounding yourself with people who love and care about you can provide comfort and support during this difficult time.
  4. Allow yourself time to grieve: Grief is a process that takes time. Don't put pressure on yourself to "move on" or "get over it" quickly. Allow yourself the time and space to grieve in your own way.
  5. Find ways to remember your loved one: Memories of your loved one can provide comfort during the grieving process. Find ways to honor their memory, such as creating a memorial or participating in an activity that they enjoyed.
  6. Seek professional help if needed: If you are struggling with grief and finding it difficult to cope, consider seeking the help of a professional therapist or counselor. They can provide guidance and support to help you navigate your grief.
  7. Be kind to yourself: Grief can be a rollercoaster of emotions. Be patient and kind to yourself during this time. Don't judge yourself for the emotions you are feeling, and allow yourself to experience them without shame or guilt.
  8. Remember, grief is a personal experience, and there is no "right" way to grieve. Allow yourself to feel your emotions, seek support when needed, and take care of yourself during this difficult time. With time and support, you can learn to cope with the loss of your loved one and find a way to move forward while keeping their memory alive.

By Alexas_Fotos on Unsplash

If you liked this story, please leave a like and comment. If you feel generous, maybe a small tip. But, most important is to take care of yourself! If you’d like to support me, check out the links below. ❤️

By Merakist on Unsplash

INSTAGRAM: @karirappold

Read more of my stories here: https://vocal.media/authors/kari-rappold

traumaselfcarehow tofamilycopingadvice
1

About the Creator

Kari Rappold

I’m not perfect at what I do. I’m always learning. You can always learn. If you say you know everything there is to know, learn some more. Because the adventure to knowledge is just a step away.

Lets Connect! Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.