Psyche logo

Cannabis and Mental Health

My opinion

By Tressa RosePublished 7 months ago 3 min read
4
Cannabis and Mental Health
Photo by Jeff W on Unsplash

So I'm all for it!

My friend has epilepsy, and is the one who started me down the Medical Marijuana road.

Mine is not for a physical condition though, Mine is stricktly mental.

I was diagnosed with PTSD many years back. In all honesty I have always kind of questioned that diagnosis. Because to me, I always came out of everything "Just fine". I knew I had bad anxiety and depression, but that's it.

I have lived that way for about 10 years now, going through these things, I only in the last 6 years understood to be called trauma triggers.

The first of those years I lived in mostly denial that they even existed. In the moment, it felt like I was responding to a situation totally normally, then as the years went on, and I was having the same triggers, and people all responded to me the same (as if I had acted a negative way) I realized I had actually had a really negative reaction, and found myself still currently responding the same way to current triggers.

I realized something isn't right here, maybe in these triggering scenarios I'm actually the problem?

But still I only correlated these to trauma triggers. To me, PTSD was something totally different. When I thought of PTSD I thought of the stories I have heard war veterans tell, and I thought PTSD was only those kinds of extreme cases.

ALL UP UNTIL...

I tried cannabis.

Well let me be clear, I didn't just smoke one day and BOOM I saw my PTSD. No, I had been smoking for a few months before starting to realize. And that is in combination with the fact that I have been doing a lot of inner work/shadow work with myself for a minute as well. I don't think I would have realized it if I wasn't trying to heal.

But yes, very recently I was with my boyfriend one night, he tried to cuddle with me, and I suddenly got very angry. I pushed him away, and he could see I was visibly frustrated with him.

Only I wasn't frustrated with him. In that moment it hit me that I was having a trauma trigger. I remembered a situation, the feelings of that situation rush back to me as if I was back in that moment. And it felt very very real, like my brain was legit talking me into the fact that it was real.

And I have been having a lot of them lately with him, even though I'm genuinely trying to avaoid them. It made me start to really look at myself and question why I'm reacting negatively to such a good situation. Why am I suddenly pushing him away and feeling distant?

Well we are getting closer, like he just gave me a promise ring.

Cannabis use helped bring me the awareness that the trauma triggers I'm having, is me going through PTSD. I'm pushing him away because I feel us getting closer, and the closer we are getting, the more PTSD I seem to experience. But now I have the awareness that I need to stay in control of my mind becuase sometimes I can lose it!

I can see this is legit "It's not you it's me." area here.

But now that I know what is creating the problem, and have been able to dig pretty deep in it, I can have a better understanding/reaction in the future.

If you have PTSD or know someone that does, I would truly try and be open minded about a Medical Marijuana Card, it has helped me with my anxiety and depression too. It really is a great drug for the right people. I can't speak highly enough of it! Hate the munchies though!!

Also, if any of you are interested in a good shadow work book get the one on tick tock! Super affordable, and very worth it, be ready to dig deep!

Thanks for reading!

depressionstigmarecoveryptsdpanic attacksmedicinecopinganxietyadvice
4

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    I’m glad it’s helping! 🪬

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.