Psyche logo

A Moment in the Quiet.

Take a Moment...and Listen

By Carol TownendPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
A Moment in the Quiet.
Photo by Boris Smokrovic on Unsplash

This morning when I woke up, I sat alone in my living room while my husband went upstairs to do some work. I usually hate quiet mornings in my house because since the kids left home, it feels quieter than usual.

When my husband started work as a nurse, the house felt unusually strange. It was so quiet that the least little noise made me jump.

I think we all enjoy peace sometimes, but there are times when that peace can become a little too much. My husband sleeps a lot because of the pain and it is at those times when I find myself feeling a little too lonely.

...even worse recently, because we somehow managed to lose the television remote for weeks.

and, I often use the television to keep me going when it's too quiet!

Now I'm sure you've heard the saying, drown out the noise.

Usually, in my house, this turns into drowning out the quiet.

This morning, I chose not to do that, and I discovered there were more sounds around me than I thought. Here is a list of what I heard:

  • Dogs barking
  • Birds chirping
  • Car horns beeping
  • Cars moving
  • People talking
  • Children playing
  • The wind blowing
  • Raindrops splattering on my windows
  • My washing machine whirring.

All of these noises are noises that I don't normally hear when I'm busy or with other people. Sitting in the quiet and taking a moment to listen, relieved some of the tension that I normally feel when I am alone, and it also released some of the tension that had built up because I have been really busy this week, with hardly any time to myself.

The point is, these are everyday noises that we often miss when we just let life speed by.

When my husband came downstairs, we went shopping. We had problems getting a taxi back because the mobile connection to the taxi rank was very poor. Normally, we'd use a car, but my husband had a minor incident a week ago, which meant the car was in need of repair, and won't be back for a few weeks. Instead of waiting for a taxi to bring us home, we walked back, taking a shortcut through the common. My husband can't walk for long, so we took a very slow walk. However, the moment of walking was worth it because walking through our common was a quiet one. Here is a list of things we heard:

  • Birdsong
  • Squirrels snapping branches, and jumping through them
  • Water in the streams rushing and bubbling
  • Bracken crunching under our feet
  • Leaves rustling in the trees
  • Bees and flys buzzing

I had never fully appreciated these moments of peace in the past, because the quiet was always seen as boring and lonely to me. However, I learned today that it doesn't have to be that way; especially if you use mindfulness, and listen to, and observe everything around you.

Just one small moment of listening in the quiet can make you smile, and lift tension, even during the most stressful times.

When we came home; we both felt more refreshed and more relaxed.

I'll be the first to admit, I'm a real grump in the mornings. However; this morning, I just sat sipping my usual morning coffee and observed all the sounds around me. It changed my mood instantly.

Just one moment of observation when you feel lonely in the quiet; listening to the wind, rain, birds, or even what everyone else is doing around you, can ease your mind, relieve tension, and make you feel less alone.

A simple moment of mindful listening is a great way to clear your mind and get you ready to start the day. It can also provide some escape from things that make you feel tense as the day goes by.

therapyselfcarehumanitycopingadvice
Like

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.