Motivation logo

We'll Talk About It...Introduction

By: Aneisha Brackens

By NeishPublished about a year ago 3 min read
4

I know what you’re thinking—”Why do we need another blog from another random woman?” I get it, I get it. I’m not saying subscribe to my work because I’m this omniscient being who is going to tell you amazing tips on how to get super rich, apply your concealer perfectly, or DIY your kitchen cabinet…because I don’t know how. I think more people need to admit that. I don’t know how to do a lot of things and I think that’s what this blog will be about. It’ll be me admitting fault and failure in the most honest way I can with what I learned in the process. Hopefully, those who choose to read are trying to figure out some things as well. If anything, let this writing serve as a comfort read.

I’ve gone through tough periods, too. You know the ones where you feel like you don’t have anyone or, if you do, you feel like they won’t get it–so you don’t bother them because you can’t trust them with whatever dark thoughts have crept into your head. Then, you find yourself in this weird isolation. You may become fixated on your goals during this time, which isn’t a bad thing per se--- but balance is essential. The loneliness you’re pretending isn’t there, will unfortunately start to make its presence known and it'll be loud.

Let’s not forget heartbreak. My goodness, I thought my high school heartbreak was enough. Heartbreak only hurts because you think you finally got it right…but you didn’t. That’s okay though, we’re supposed to get it wrong a few times at least. I mean, that’s what every romcom, (real) adult, and pro-athlete has told me, so forgive me for passing on information that’s embedded in me. I think there’s some truth to it though. Heartbreak is another time to be cliche if you want and no one is going to say a thing to you about it. Seriously, eat the ice-cream. Cry in the shower. Watch whichever Matthew McConaughey romcom over and over. Have too much wine and do drunk karaoke, (unless you’re in recovery, let’s not backtrack temporarily for a feeling that isn’t permanent. I believe in you). I personally ran 10 miles a day and cried in the shower with the entire bottle of wine. It wasn’t a pretty time.Heartbreak isn’t always from romance either. Your dreams, your choices, your secrets, and much more can and will break your heart.

Pause. Can we all acknowledge how most of us are doing/experiencing several things for the first time in life?! Whether it's taxes, college, bills, jobs, balancing finances, grief, health issues, being in a relationship, accountability, buying a house, moving away, having kids, or anything. I'm in my 20s, but there are teenagers, 30/40/50/60+ year olds all having first times, too. No matter your age---it's overwhelming and I don't know how you're doing it, but I'm proud of you! If you're struggling with some of it, I hope this blog helps... because I struggled, too. For a long time. Badly. I still am struggling with a lot of it actually. See, there's the honesty I told you about. Hey, look at us. *Paul Rudd voice*. We're bonding.

You won’t read sadness all the time here, don’t worry. I think if you stick around you’ll have more fun here than you think. We’ll laugh together, we’ll cry together, we’ll learn together and I don’t know what else, but… we’ll talk about it. ♥

how tosuccessself helphealinghappinessgoalsadvice
4

About the Creator

Neish

Hi! I’m Aneisha. I'm the author of the blog--We'll Talk About It! It releases every Tuesday. You can also find some short stories and poems I used to write, while you're waiting for the next blog post. <3

Instagram: @aneishabrackens

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.