Motivation logo

This Is The Worst Way To Motivate Your Team

And how you should actually motivate them.

By Michael NaylorPublished 23 days ago 3 min read
Like
This Is The Worst Way To Motivate Your Team
Photo by Campaign Creators on Unsplash

Toxic leaders. We all encounter them at one point in our careers. We all know the issues that they cause.

This issue is primarily seen in such leaders, especially those promoted above their competence. However, even leaders who are genuinely trying their best sometimes fall into this trap.

Because it's your job.

A team member when asked to do something asks why. Why are we doing this? Is this the best way to do this? Are we sure this is a good idea?

The leader replies with a line such as “because I asked you to”, “Because it's your job” or the seemingly lesser evil “because we have always done it this way”. The team member’s question has been shut down as if it were a nuisance.

Is that team member motivated to carry out this task? No.

They know you asked, that's what prompted their question. They already know it's their job, they applied and interviewed for it. Just because you do something a certain way does not mean it cannot be improved.

When we shut team members down like this they probably do get back to work quicker. Maybe you do it this way because you know this is the best way. The team are unlikely to be working as effectively as they would if they understood why they were doing the task this way.

Listen to your Team

Take a minute to explain or if you cannot ask them to do it this way for now and you will explain later. And then do just, that, make the time.

When people feel listened to they feel valued. When people feel valued they work harder. That 10-minute explanation of why a job needs doing or why it needs doing this way will be repaid many times over.

While at college I had a temporary job restocking shelves overnight at a supermarket. The first night I was there the team leader told me when stacking cans to make sure they are all facing forward and aligned perfectly. I was 18, tact wasn’t in my skillset yet. “Why” I asked “It will just get messed up and it slows me down.” The reply as you may have guessed was a curt “because it's your job and if you want to keep it you’ll do it.”

So I did it but I was in no way motivated. I just did it good enough to get this person off my back.

Photo by Claudio Schwarz on Unsplash

A few weeks later I was on a different shift pattern and another team leader was managing the shift. They noticed that I was just kinda going through the motions. They did not say anything initially they just stocked the shelf next to me.

I finished before them but they asked me to wait for them to finish. Then they asked me to stand back and look at both shelves. Their side was perfect, every can was facing the right way and stacked so that everything was in line. “What is different about our shelves.” They asked me. I replied that theirs looked nicer mine was not quite as well aligned as theirs. Truth be told side by side like that mine looked a mess of wavy lines.

Another question “If every shelf looked like yours instead of mine we would finish faster, and we wouldn't have to pay you all as many hours. Why don’t we do that do you think?”

The penny was beginning to drop “The store wouldn’t look professional.”

“Yes, customers notice how neat and tidy a store is. If we cut corners in our presentation who is to say we don't cut corners everywhere else.”

After this conversation, I was not filled with an undying passion for stocking shelves. But I did always take a step back when done and make sure everything looked as it should. I worked there for 8 more months before I finished my college course and moved to another city. A 10-minute conversation gained that store a better and more engaged employee for 8 months.

They did not pay me more and they actually added a step to what I was doing. I worked a little bit harder every day because that team leader took the time to explain why doing it the right way was important.

My questions were answered and I felt more valued because they explained the why of the task. People are not robots, we like to feel like what we are doing serves a purpose.

So when a team member asks why try to make the time to listen and explain.

Lead them by example don't push them on by force.

They may even have a better way to do something because they are bringing a fresh perspective.

successself helphow togoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

Michael Naylor

I am a Computer Science teacher in the UK with a variety of interests from education, making learning more accessible and self improvement to tech, gaming, and programming.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.